We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect overnight stay”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the perfect overnight stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

booked an overnight stay at this outstanding luxury boutique hotel prior to a visit to france. eveything from the warm welcome on arrival with the complimentary drink to the superb full cooked breakfast served by the friendly and attentive staff was excellent. the room was of superior spec and the bed extremely comfortable affording me just the kind of good nights sleep needed prior to my onward journey across the channel. although the room did not have tea or coffee making facilities endless fresh tea and coffee was available and brought to my room by the very obliging staff

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munchie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear munchie49,

Thank you for your recent review of The Clarence and we are pleased that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us before taking your onward journey across the Channel. I hope you enjoyed your holiday and if you are ever in the area again we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kinda Regards

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    118
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
797
30
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed for one night and were upgraded to the room with the sunken bath at no extra charge, it was beautifully clean and the bed and bedding were very luxurous and comfy. Unfortunately we were only there one night and were out late as we were at a concert so couldn't really take advantage of the facilities, ie a leisurely bath watching tv. I thought the room smelt a bit damp, possibly because of the bath but my husband didn't notice it. The breakfast was very nice fresh fruit etc and as a vegetarian there was a vegetarian choice which was great. The staff were very friendly and we were given a welcome cup of tea on arrival which was a nice touch. My only criticism was the lack of tea making facilities in the room. It was explained to us we could ring at any time and get tea/coffee delivered but when we returned after midnight and everyone was obviously in bed, on a week night, who is going to request a cup of tea? I really wanted a cup of tea before I went to bed and missed the availability of a kettle and tea, otherwise I would have gone for the 5 mark.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room with a shower if you prefer to shower as the bath rooms appear to only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear RayandSteve,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in July. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and also enjoyed the extensive breakfast menu that we offer and our Egyptian cotton bedding. I am sorry that you didn't want to make a call after midnight for tea/coffee to your bedroom. As mentioned at checkin we have staff who work 24hours per day and our night porter would only have been too pleased to bring you a nice cup of tea to your room at anytime. I am sorry that you did not take us up on our offer to bring you tea/coffee to your room and that this lost us a point. Any guest can have as many complimentary tea/coffees as they wish throughout their stay and I know of no other hotel that offers this and also a complimentary drink of their choice upon arrival.

Thank you and we hope to be able to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

Kind Regards

The Clarence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Absolutely faultless hotel - friendly hosts, immaculately clean. Excellent quality breakfast ingredients. Nothing too much trouble.
Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to stay in the Portsmouth/Southsea area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garden10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Garden10,

Thank you for your lovely review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you to The Clarence sometime in the future.

Kind Regards

The Clarence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for one night before we caught the ferry from Portsmouth. What an amazing little place. Staff extremely pleasant, nothing too much trouble. We were welcomed with a complimentary drink. The room was fabulous. Adults only was a plus. Wonderful decor and furnishings. Double jacuzzi bath with aqua TV. Still can't get over how wonderful the place was decorated. Breakfast made to order, smoked haddock, salmon, every fruit you would ever want. We have travelled first class all over the world and this hotel truly surprised and fulfilled our requirements. A must stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Kaz240,

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am also pleased to read that you are a seasoned traveller to first class establishments worldwide and that The Clarence truly fufilled your requirements.

Many thanks and I hope to be able to welcome you to The Clarence if you are ever in the area again.

Kind Regards

The Clarence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Looking for a two night stay in Portsmouth I found this hotel on the internet and wanted to stay here, the two nights I wanted was not available so we changed our plans just so we could stay at the Clarence and we are so pleased we did. On our arrival we were offered a drink of our choice and was made to feel very welcome. Our room was really clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated, there was a good choice of extra's on offer - Champagne, chocolates and lovely things for your bath also spa treatments were available. I loved the breakfast especially the selection of fresh fruit. Jenny and Mark have got the balance right, they are there when you need them and nothing is too much trouble(Jenny rang a couple of restaurants for us and made our reservation), the rest of the staff are friendly, polite and helpful also. I would recommend this hotel (in fact I already have) and we do plan to stay here again.
Mr & Mrs Baines = Lincolnshire

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the Terracotta Room as it was the last room available. It is at the back of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear D B

Many thanks for your lovely review of The Clarence. Mark and myself are extremely pleased that you felt that we have created the right balance at the hotel. It's great that you enjoyed the breakfast and the overall facilities that we offer here.

Thank you for stating that you would recommend us and we look forward to being able to welcome you again on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Jenny & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here recenlty. Staff are attentive, professional, friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed our check in experience and appreciated our gorgeous room with robes and slippers. We thought the room service was lovely too (we ordered paninis and bath bombs!) and relaxed with aqua vision (gold and bronze room). the hotel was a great location for a fun walk to gunwharf quays and back. A late night pot of tea on our return was really appreciated. Breakfast was also superb. Overall, We really could not fault a thing!

Room Tip: Gold and bronze is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_truth_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear the_truth_seeker,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing The Clarence to celebrate your recent wedding anniversary. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Jenny Brunning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Be wary of cheaper imitations! The Clarence is the real deal and a firm favourite for us, Mark, Jenny and all the staff always extend a very warm welcome and the rooms are always immaculate. I must admit we have lost count of the times we have now been but once discovered I challenge you to find better! Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cutian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeatTheClarence, Owner at The Clarence Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear cutian, Many thanks for your lovely review and we are just so pleased that you keep coming back to enjoy The Clarence.

We hope to see you soon!!

Warmest Regards

Jenny Brunning x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
646 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 38 in Portsmouth
654 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing