We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel - a hidden gem”
Review of The Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarence Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic boutique hotel - a hidden gem”
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Found this boutique hotel whilst driving in the car and looking online on the iphone. Found it via the map on the hotel website and parked up and rang the bell. Greeted by a very friendly lady who welcomed us in to have a look at the available rooms and have complimentary drink.
The rooms were amazing and we would have been happy in all of them! All had their own characteristics whether it be a sunken bath. shower room, wet room, etc and all decorated in fabulous colours and finishes.
We decided to take the best room of the hotel which had the 2 person, jacuzzi bath in it which was just amazing. Chocolates left by the bed and had a few night caps in the bar before turning in. Having a chat with the lovely lady who had greeted us earlier in the day (apologies but can't remember her name!) we took our night caps off to the room.
The bed was so comfy and the room had plenty of space, air con and bottles of complimentary water by the bed.
Next morning we had a super breakfast which is served till 11am, (result!) which was a full english breakfast and I had waffles and fruit which were both very very good.
We could also help ourselves to fruit and fresh coffee was served. A really good breakfast.
I notice the good reviews for this boutique hotel and agree with them all. We will definitely be returning and can't wait to visit our new hideaway!!
I would definitely recommend this hotel - you won't be disapointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    117
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
39
785
30
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Our short stay in this hotel was first class. The service is personal and friendly thanks to the excellent staff. The accomodation is luxurious, well thought out and each room has that personal touch which is evident with the attention to detail. The food was amazing and the staff knowledge around local cuisine was second to none. We will definitely being staying again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Booked in for a Friday night - the hotel is on a back street running parallel with the sea road and does not have a great outlook - but that does not matter - was is missing from the views department is made up for inside this immaculate hotel. I have never seen so much attention to detail - from the welcome and complimentary drinks, to a room that was quite simply faultless. When we arrived we were shown the available rooms and asked which one we preferred - nice touch! The room we opted for was number 6 and included an in room roll top bath + very high quality furniture and bed linens. The room is well set for a romantic break and complimentary movies of all kinds (!) will add to the experience.
Jenny, the owner was very helpful and we enjoyed the kind of service just not possible from the multiples.
And did I mention breakfast ......

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 59caddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Excellent Boutique hotel just off the sea front. Our stay was so relaxing and the welcome was fantastic. The staff made our stay so comfortable, nothing was too much trouble.
All the rooms are beautifully decorated and the TV in the bathroom was a rare treat!
We shall certainly recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We have just returned from our break away, and it was wonderrful. This was my husbands 40th birthday treat, combined with a weekend at the Goodwood Festival of Speed. The hotel is ideally situated for this annual event, only 30 minutes by car, b u the route does get busy.
The hotel has been stunningly decorated, we stayed in the "follow your heart" room, we found the bath with the aqua vision bliss, after a long day at goodwood. Chocaltes and a complimentary drink were awaiting us when we arrived.
Even though its a luxury boutique hotel, not once did we feel out of place, its was very welcoming. The staff are very friendly and take much pride in their job, nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfasts are fantastic, you could choose anything you wanted, from smoked salmon to cereal. I have probaly added a few pounds, as a full breakfast was my order of the day.
We will be returning to this hotel, and around the corner there is a family hotel aswell, which we would like to go to.
After meeting Jensen and Lewis, we couldnt have asked for a better weekend. Highly recommended - ENJOY!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Stayed for two nights for business/leisure and after staying at lots of other Portsmouth hotels this is a real find. The welcome was great , room lovely and staff very friendly.
Breakfast is freshly cooked and the quality of the ingredients very high. Would certainly recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissiePaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

The Clarence Hotel is a wonderful place to stay. The service is unsurpassed and the quality of the rooms are simply superb. It is tucked away behind the hotels on the seafront but this does not take away from the quality of the establishment.

I have stayed here many times, and it is just a really good place to stay. The films are free on the TV's, the rooms are comfortable and they have gone to an extreme level to make your experience of staying there top of the range.

It is not a chain hotel, and this is one of its main appeals. If you want the Marriot experience you are not going to get it here, the experience is much better than that.

The breakfast is great, and a fresh array of fruit is always on offer.

I would even say it is the only hotel I have been on with business on the South Coast I would relish staying in, spending my own money!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greggbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#6 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarence Hotel

Property: The Clarence Hotel
Address: Clarence Road, Portsmouth PO5 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarence is Portsmouth and Southsea's multi award-winning adults only luxury boutique hotel. This Edwardian residence has been stylishly converted to offer well designed and individually styled rooms with luxury bathrooms. All rooms offer Air-conditioning, King-sized bed & Wi-Fi. Perfectly situated just 5 mins away from all major attractions and just a few hundred yards from the seafront, The Clarence is the ideal place to stay whether it be for Business or that well earned break. The Clarence also offers guests in-room health and beauty treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing