We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best curries we have had”
Review of Monsoon Thali House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Monsoon Thali House
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the best curries we have had”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Had special offer from The News for this restaurant so thought we would give it a try. So glad we did, the food was excellent, we had one of the best indian meals we have had, and we like our curries. Had onion bhajee starter, chicken tikka massala and chicken shashlik, rice and bombay potatoes, could not fault any of the dishes. The service was also excellent. Will definitely be going back soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiePortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We ate here on a Friday night, the restaurant was not busy with only two tables occupied, but the takeaway trade was booming. The decor could do with a complete overhaul, its old, tired and cheap looking, but otherwise it was a pretty good experience. The restaurant smelled great, the staff were attentive, efficient and friendly and the table was nicely set with good quality cloths, cutlery and crockery. The menu has the usual suspects, a good fish selection and thalis.

We found the poppadoms a bit on the soft side. Main meals were very nice but there were minimal king prawns in my biriyani. The naan was very greasy in the middle too but the flavours were good and it was all well presented.

There are a lot of dubious curry houses in Portsmouth, I think the Monsoon is one of the better ones but not amazing. Cant fault the staff though and it was reasonably priced. I would go back

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Had a very good meal here using my Taste card and was not let down as it was 241, Mixed kebab and Chicken pakora, really nice and tasty. For main we had Chicken tikka masala and I had the Persian Chicken Biriani, and it was the best I have had, Very pleased with the food and will be returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sha32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth,UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Takeaway -- Not so good.”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

It wasn't very good at all. Chana masala seemed to be watery and with no MASALA at all as if they are serving British food. Pilau Rice was also of average grade. Rice used was of low quality. Masala dall tasted spice-less. I will never order anything from them. This was my first experience with them.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aditya_Singh_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“A Real Taste of Perfection!”
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

I tried the a la carte menu which offers the new fish dishes. It was absolutley wonderful from the first moment it was served to me! Highly Recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monsoon Thali House also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing