We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, slow service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Slug and Lettuce - Southsea

The Slug and Lettuce - Southsea
Ranked #440 of 634 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I felt a bit sorry for the girls who were working when I visited with a friend. There were only two of them manning the entire bar and restaurant when we got there and although it wasn't packed, it was too busy for two people to manage. We decided what we wanted to order and went up to the bar. We were told by a rather breathless girl that it was table service and we had to wait at our table to order. So we waited. And waited. About 15 minutes later we went back to the bar and the girl assured us someone would be with us shortly. About another 10 minutes later we did manage to order our food. It was a bit of a wait but the food was quite good. I think if it weren't for the slow service this would be a great place to eat. Let's hope it was just an off-day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank littleemma88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    54
    35
    34
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Shabby pub grub”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

No atmosphere and typical greasy food, old salad and not looking good either. Used to be an alright place to eat but has gone downhill, never enough staff and place is dirty.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank magicme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

wot a load of crap food here.no rice for chilli ,no pasta for kids,no peas with fish and chips meal.no grated cheese and cucumber in the caesar and no merlot.will not be coming here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hn_C244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We popped in for lunch as we were looking for a late lunch. The bar staff were friendly and ordering was fairly straightforward. Drinks were brought to the tabel and we didn't have long to wait for our food. My husband had a steak baguette and fries which looked ok - nothing special though. I had ordered a chicken, bacon and avocado wrap with sweet potato fries with garlic mayo. It was here the Slug and Lettuce lost me - there was no avocado in sight, the fries were greasy, floppy excuses for fries and the garlic mayo. was elusive. There were no staff in sight and nobody checked to see if we were happy with the food - one look at my plate would have given them the answer to this! When trying to pay it took 4 attempts to get the correct bill. Suffice it to say I shall be avoiding in future sadly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairlight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

staying at a b & b nearby, we have a voucher for 25% off. The waitress was friendly and helpful, and the food was good and came quickly. They have daily offers, and I think they offer good value for money

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FairlightTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce - Southsea also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Slug and Lettuce - Southsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing