We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, cosy B&B near South Parade Pier”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Esk Vale Guest House
Ranked #9 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Friendly, cosy B&B near South Parade Pier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We booked this B&B at short notice and were pleased with our choice. The owners were friendly and made us feel welcome. The rooms, although small, were comfortable with flat screen TVs and nice modern showers. Breakfasts were very good, and we opted for the full English every day! In summary, well worth the money and recommended.

The location is superb, being a few steps from the beach, Canoe lake, South Parade pier, South Parade pier, and a bus stop with regular buses to Old Portsmouth and the Gun Wharf (£2.10 fare on First buses, so we took Stagecoach for £1.50).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MandMetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    26
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
33
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed here regularly whilst attending lectures at the University. The rooms were clean and decorated to a high standard. The breakfast was well prepared and the overall service by Andy and his wife was sincere and to a high standard. They made me feel very welcome. I will stay here if I am down in Portsmouth again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed a week here at Esk Vale and was delighted with the place. To me a seaside B & B must have good sleep quality and location. These premises have both in spades. The present owners are a lovely couple who have dedicated themselves to the business and should be rewarded for their efforts.
My flight into Heathrow was late, missed my train to Portsmouth and trundled into town after midnight but was still made to feel welcome. Had a small single but was ample for one person with a lovely comfortable bed. The breakfast served is fairly sumptious with a good selection of hot and cold food. The owners are very helpful and obliging, all and all it is a terrific package for the price, I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthseaRangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

I'm staying here as an actor working on a film. The service is what I would rate most highly, It is a friendly welcoming atmosphere here and that is something that is rare to find. The breakfast was exactly what I wanted and they catered to my dietary requirements. The room is great value and very comfortable. All in all I would highly recommend this b&b to anyone looking for a home away from home!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony12992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just stayed at the Esk Vale Guest House for the weekend. The new owners were really friendly, kind and helpful. The breakfast was great and the whole experience was really good value for money. The Esk Vale is in a good position not far from the Southse attractions, but on a quiet road. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Really enjoyed my short stay at the Esk Vale. We arrived in Southsea for a Weekend away and found the Esk Vale by chance. The owners were very welcoming and booked us in with no hassle or fuss. The breakfast was fantastic and i would't hesitate to stay there again. Thanks Esk Vale.

Room Tip: Only stopped in room 9 and found it very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shefflad061074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

My husband and i stayed the weekend and were more than impressed with the facilities and hospitality. Mr and Mrs pang were very welcoming. love the flat screen tv that have just been replaced by new owners. Will defantly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilyalice18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#9 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esk Vale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esk Vale Guest House

Property: Esk Vale Guest House
Address: 39 Granada Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Hotel Class:3 star — Esk Vale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esk Vale Guest House is a charming old Victorian house some 100 yards from Southsea sea front north of South Parade Pier. We offer double, twin and single rooms, most of which are en-suite. Prices are inclusive of full English breakfast. We also have a family suite and a family room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing