We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Centrally located and within easy reach of all amenities such as seafront, restaurants, shopping, museums etc, lovely clean room which looked like it had been recently refurbished, very pleased with stay

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Flutterby_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2010

THIS IS THE WORSE HOTEL IVE BEEN IN the safety catch on my 3rd floor window didnt work the bedroom linen was dirty the owner is rude and vile there is no bar and resturant dont no how they can call it a hotel woman on desk very litte english no car park was woken up by drunken guests at 3am

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pwh02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

The establishment is rundown, dilapidated and needs total refurbishment, starting with the broken and missing tiles at the entrance. Our room smelled when we opened the door, the carpets are ill fitted matting throughout and stained. Furniture looks rickety second hand, non matching and out of a car boot sale. Our one mirror was placed at waist height resting on the radiator, my wife and I initially had one cup and one towel. Throughout our weekend ordeal we had no shower, initially repaired, but could not be used because the bath leaked, despite the lashings of black mouldy sealer prominent throughout the bathroom. Efforts to repair were unsuccessful so we bathed in a shallow bath to make do. Did not see evidence of food or a bar but we would not have taken anything by mouth in the place. We are widely travelled throughout the world and easy going but could not believe such low standard accommodation in such a prime position in UK would be acceptable to the authorities. All our coach party had similar individual experiences and I speak for us all.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank buspasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Encouraged by our stay last year, we returned to the Sandringham for a short stay over the May bank holiday. Clean, comfortable, and the staff very pleasant and very helpful. We intend to return for a week later this year.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petriburgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Upon arrival was put in a double room even though single was requested. Was charged double room price still even after asking for single price. For £35 the room had no bath taps on the bath. No flooring in bathroom. No plug for sink. Bedside lamp didnt work. A tiny tv in a big room. Milk for coffee was out of date. No breakfast included. Bang on the door before 9am to clean room and get out. Ouerall it had to be the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. Next day i went next door to the parisien hotel. For £20 i got a lovely room with double bed a friendly welcome and all in working order. No contest between the 2.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

i stayed at this hotel in may i have been in hundreds of hotels but this has to be the dirtiest and most rundown i have stopted in.the staff where great but apart from that i cannot think of anything good to say .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breconbeacons_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

My wife and I stayed for three days and nights at the Sandringham and were very impressed by the excellent condition and cleanliness of our room and of the hotel facilities generally, as we were by the helpful and friendly staff. Our stay was very pleasant and we would certainly recommend this hotel to our family and friends. To show our appreciation we decided to commend the Sandringham on this wesbite where we are totally baffled by some negative comments which seem as if directed at a different hotel entirely. We shall certainly return to the Sandringham again and again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icenian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#23 of 39 in Portsmouth
934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#20 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
0.6 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#24 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Address: 7 Osborne Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £97 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE: The hotel is now under brand new management and has undergone extensive refurbishment. A fantastic, value for money hotel, providing quality accommodation and excellent value. We do not have a Bar/Restaurant due to our central location within 5 minutes' walk to a variety of Cafes,Restaurants and Bars as well as the Casino and a mere 10 minute walk to The Historic Dockyard and the renowned harbour side Gunwharf Quays Shopping Centre as well as The iconic Spinnaker Tower. The seafront, which offers fantastic views from the hotel is a 2 minute walk across Southsea common. All rooms recently refurbished (2014)with en-suite facilities. Most rooms with magnificent views towards the Solent and Isle of Wight -Lift to all floors -Friendly and welcoming staff If you are looking for a great value Hotel in a central location,providing excellent value for money then this is the Hotel for you! Prices from: Double /Twin room £45/night Single room £25/night Family room from £65/night Apartments Fully self-contained Apartments from one to four bedrooms recently refurbished. In large Apartments each bedroom with en-suite facilities:  Lift to all floors  Fully equipped kitchens and furnished.  Short or Long term stay welcome The team at The Sandringham Hotel Suites and Apartments ,Southsea, look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing