We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for value, but an indifferent destination.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Maritime Club
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok for value, but an indifferent destination.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

I came to Portsmouth one morning by train, just to see the Historic Dockyards, and stayed at this hotel because it’s right next to both station and Dockyards and wasn’t too expensive. Gotta say, though, that—apart from the upscale shopping mall at Gunwharf Quay—not much else going on nearby; in retrospect I should have taken the train onwards after the Dockyards closed at 5:30, rather than spend the night in Portsmouth. That said, the hotel isn’t bad: interesting history, odd layout, nice big room and bathroom, fast internet; the bed wasn’t great. Had some cheap, fearsomely spicy Indian food from the place next door.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    228
    146
    43
    40
See reviews for
103
226
52
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

Checked in to this hotel at 3.15 checked out at 3.30 most depressing place and room I have ever seen needs a complete renovation everywhere just plain horrible

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mattyrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel.Less tan 5 minutes walk from the Harbour & the naval Dockyard.
The rooms are nice were just the job for me as i was just sleeping & having Breakfast. I spent of he days sightseeing with not getting back to the evening.

Breakfast is buffet with a good selection & is helped by some very friendly staff.

The hotel has lot of character with a old colonial feel which i thought was fine as i like that sort of place. Staff were excellent & very helpful.

Ideal place for someone like me you does not drive.

Room Tip: The website does double rooms for sole occupancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghChaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Having stayed at the Club, I would not recommend anybody staying at this venue and I would not stay there in the future. The general decor is very tired, the rooms are very tired and shabby looking. Also, when somebody opens a door and it slams shut, it vibrates through the floors and is very noisy. The food was not particularly good, the plates were cold at all times, if you had the cooked breakfast, the grease was laying on the eggs and sausages. However, I must give praise to the staff of the dining room, if you required anything, they were more than willing to help. Although one of the Chefs!!! was not helpful at all when asked if he could supply an alternative menu, the swift answer was no, hence I went out to eat instead of staying in the club.

Room Tip: Go Elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

The position of this club was very good for the Historic Harbour and Gunwharf Quay. The inside of the club let it down very much I would not recommend this to anyone over the height of 5ft 10in as the double we had was very short and narrow. The walk to your room was quite a hick and pulling a case made it more difficult the lifts where very small anybody who had a wheel chair would have a problem.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alby_lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Basic hotel with everything that you need for a few nights stay. Breakfast is very good buffet style. Bar and restaurant on site.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

I booked this using a last minute website and got a very competitive price. Bearing this in mind, this budget gem, dwarfed by a number of towering.competitors outstripped my expectations. My room, though a little tired in appearance had all the expected fittings, review tv, tea and coffee, and a surprisingly spacious bathroom with a warm and powerful shower. The gym, though probably in need of a little modernizing was perfectly adequate to get a good sweat on and a small swimming pool was even available. Breakfast was served in an airy dining room albeit with a mess hall feel to it. This harks back to the naval heritage of this grand old nautical jewel. That said the food was hot and tasty and the friendly staff perfectly attentive. The one downside could be parking which is very limited however the receptionist was able to sell me a parking permit (£2 for 24hrs) allowing me to use one the many council-marked spaces nearby. 5 minutes walk from the bars, restaurants and shopping at Gunwharf Quay this budget hotel is excellent value and does exactly what it says on the tin. HM forces ask about discounts when booking.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockmonkeySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#12 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Maritime Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Maritime Club

Property: Royal Maritime Club
Address: Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Maritime Club 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Royal Maritime Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Maritime Club Hotel Portsmouth
Royal Maritime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing