We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Maritime Club
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florence House(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Number Four Boutique Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacrest Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somerset House Boutique Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (837)
Filter reviews
837 results
Traveller rating
216
338
185
54
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
338
185
54
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgunwharf quaysrefurbished roomsmall poolnaval baselimited parkingshort walkleisure facilitiesgun wharfhms victorybuffet stylesingle roomparking spacespinnaker towershopping centrevisiting portsmouthfull englishone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
697 - 702 of 837 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I liked the location of the hotel, walking distance to all the places I wanted to visit. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and cozy. I think some may find the room a bit small, but I liked the cozy factor. The breakfast buffet was also rather nice, with a large variety of good food. I highly recommend it and I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abottelberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed for one night in room 204, on friday 13th September..& it was 'OK' for the following reasons..
Now the greeting was friendly & we were able to park at the front..but this is limited, so we were lucky..as you walk into the lobby area..it really is quite something, with all its Navel connections & the round area & ceiling, actually reminds me of the 'Art Deco' living room at Eltham Palace. The location of this hotel is one of its prim factors, if your visiting the Historic Dockyard,Gun Wharf & Spinnaker Tower etc..
But we felt our room, was quite dark..dated & tired in parts...i would also like to say re our bed, was the worst nights sleep we both had in a long time..it wasn't pleasant..& we were both shattered in the morning. Yes the shower was in the bath but we had good hot water & it worked well..we also found that the room was far too hot, even with both windows open.
The Breakfast was very good...we & our friends, enjoyed the choice re the cooked buffet & assorted cereal's..the serving staff were very friendly & did work hard! A huge plus...would i stay here again, maybe but not in room 204...in relation to sleep quality..£98 wasnt good value!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This Hotel has everything, great location, lovely room with huge modern bathroom, spotlessly clean, staff (with the exception of Wed breakfast staff) Reception staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful, cleaning staff lovely and room cleaned while we had breakfast. we had three great nights sleep with no noise - yes it was hot in room, but we were lucky enough to have a heatwave outside too ! breakfasts were very good, plenty of choice and all fresh. We would be happy to stay in the Royal Maritime Club again next year in fact wouldn't stay anywhere else now - so much to see too, Portsmouth Harbour is lovely by day and evening, plenty of places to eat and shops brilliant - went to see the new Mary-Rose exhibition and stayed to see everything else in the Dockyard - had a day at the Harbour side shops and took a boat around the bay - lovely .

Room Tip: we stayed in 107 - first floor back - very quiet, large shower, two sinks and separate bath in huge bathroom. superking size bed, couldn't fault it. Friends stayed in 101 along the corridor on the front, said that was quiet too and looked a lovely room, again with a lovely bathroom, and Jacuzzi bath.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hywel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Amazing service! I needed to check out very early in the morning and they prepared a "breakfast box" with sandwich, crisps, chocolate, orange juice and water since I would be missing breakfast!

Really nice environment, very... English and classy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvaK0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Such a friendly greeting and swift direction where to leave the car. Check in soon completed and directed to a freshly refurbished room with a massive bed; two singles combined. The room was large and comfortable, though exceedingly warm, even with the window wide open. Thankfully a fan was provided..but I personally cannot sleep well on a waterproof mattress protector.
The leisure facilities were a little disappointing but I only had an hour to indulge.
The breakfast routine was skilfully managed with very attentive staff. The menu choice excellent
Dinner was included in our deal and though a limited choice we were satisfied and even filtered coffee was included.
All in all a very good place to stay, right near the dockyard and ferries, plus Gunwharf shopping centre with an amazing selection of eateries.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mytrips08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews