We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Maritime Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Maritime Club
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Came here for a wedding reception. Nice venue dance floor layout not correct. Rubbish use of space. Drinks fair price. Alot of functions on at the same time. Closed at 12 for a Saturday could of done with an extra hour.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jaidic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    175
    129
    40
    38
See reviews for
79
173
43
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night - visiting Portsmouth for no reason in particular - and were very pleased with its location (which can't be bettered) and its lobby & interior. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel place was beautifully clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Everything worked as it should and on the whole it was an entirely satisfactory experience.

Its downside was the heat - which was horrendous in July as no air conditioning - and the decor, which was very tired and in need of refreshment. The hem on the curtain was hanging down and the general look and feel of the (very clean) bedroom was dated and weary. These are cosmetic points though and easily remedied.

In addition, we thought the price somewhat over the top - given the room and its drawbacks. And the toaster was agonisingly slow!

Room Tip: If you go in summer, aim for as low a floor as you can. Heat rises and it was so, so hot in out thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndel-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Reception staff exceptional on arrival felt as though I was a regular customer. There was a very High standard of cleanliness. I used the leisure facilities and The Swimming pool and jaccuzi was great and wonderfully heated
Buffet Breakfast could not be beaten on value

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frame101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

So this is my first night ... It's now 0507hrs and I've been away since 0200hrs from people arguing in the street aswell as guests going back & fourth in corridor. Bed needs a new mattress as I can almost feel base on my back! We requested a family room as we have our 17mth old baby and got told none left only doubles... Lucky enough we brought our own travel cot! Roll on the next 24hrs so I can go home!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Sof0482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Mendon, Vermont
Level Contributor
191 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for one night while visiting the Historic Dockyard area.

Pros:

1. It would be hard to find a hotel that is in a better location in relation to the Historic Dockyard. It's literally just down the street.
2. Friendly staff.
3. Good full english breakfast included.

Cons:

1. No air-conditioning, so the hotel (especially the corridors) smells old and musty.
2. Although our room had been recently refurbished, there was a definite smell of mildew.
3. The mattress was awful. My wife barely slept a wink.

That said, if you want a convenient place to stay when visiting the dockyard, look no further. For one night, it was more than adequate. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flabrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I take my 89 year old father down to Portsmouth every year for his ship' reunion (HMS Indefatigable). The event is held at The Royal Maritime Club so we always stay here.
The Club is like an old fashioned hotel with large entrance foyer with the restaurant and bar off each side. Rooms seem to be all over the place and none are really suited for disabled wheelchair users. All the rooms we have stayed in over the last 8 years are quite basic by todays standards and could do with a good make over ( I think this is now taking place). Having said that, they are adequate for 2 males well over 60 staying for only 2 nights !!! Returning for 8 years proves that.
The food is good considering the price paid. The service always warm and friendly. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulLawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sg188hd
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night while attending a wedding at the docks. Location is superb and is the only reason we would use this hotel again.
Room was adequate for 1 nights sleep.
The bathroom was a disgrace. A blocked sink which I am convinced the hotel must have been aware of and a shower which frankly was pathetic, to say water trickled out is an exaggeration!
Breakfast was good. The hotel rates are not cheap and the standards are not reflective of the price - extremely over priced. The only reason to recommend this hotel is the location and this is the only reason we would ever consider returning.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
3.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Maritime Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Maritime Club

Property: Royal Maritime Club
Address: Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Maritime Club 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Maritime Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Maritime Club Hotel Portsmouth
Royal Maritime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing