We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location”
Review of Duke Of Buckingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duke Of Buckingham
Ranked #5 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights from 29 August and enjoyed our stay. The pub/hotel is ideally situated near Old Portsmouth so is easy to walk to the main Gun Wharf and shops and all the usual sightseeing stuff in Pompey. The rooms were extremely small and we felt like living in a shoe box but the bed was really comfortable and the shower worked well. Didn't try the food at the pub but it was the usual pub grub style. If you travel into Southsea try bar / bistro 69 - it was fabulous. Also try the ABar Bistro at 58 White Hart Road. For a great breakfast try the Spinnaker café in Broad Street - note - this is not the one under the Spinnaker Tower!

Room Tip: The tv remote control in Room 11 doesn't work - so if you're a tv freak - bad luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review, Your comments help us to improve on our service to ensure all our customers have the best experience possible.

Thank you once again, we really do appreciate you taking the time to write this review and we look forward to seeing you at The Duke of Buckingham soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    260
    92
    35
    18
See reviews for
130
282
60
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for one night in July 2013 , great location , only 5 minutes walk to beach and gunwarfe shops etc . Rooms are very clean and comfortable , only drawback was our room was right at the top so was small but served its purpose and would recommend . Had fab breakfast in the pub but note they only do breakfasts on saturday and sunday mornings . Great cafe under Spinnaker Tower with fab views of the harbour and ferries . Would stay here again if returning to Portsmouth :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syla284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We all work very hard to ensure our guests leave happy and to read comments like your is so rewarding.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you back at The Duke of Buckingham in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We were charged £115 and did not even stay there! Due to unforeseen circumstances a booking for two nights had to be cancelled a week before, the booking only being made a few days before that, and they operate a NO REFUND policy which is not clearly stated on their website.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
Helpful?
5 Thank Digruntled2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
After looking at our booking process we felt that this customer was not informed clearly of our terms and conditions at the time of booking with us. A full refund was given the customers.
At The Duke of Buckingham we pride ourselves on giving the best customer service possible to all of our guests and thank this customer for pointing out the problem they had to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed one night and found the hotel clean, comfortable and friendly. The location was excellent (in Old Portsmouth) and we ate out at The Still and West round the corner and had an evening walk on the front at Southsea. We had breakfast in the cafe under the Spinnaker Tower and had a great few days. Easy to get around and the hotel provided us with free parking right outside hotel. It was a short trip and we really only slept at the hotel but were very pleased with service we received and would definitely use again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed in the cottage behind the pub, it was clean and nicely done. The floor upstairs creaked and was apparently inhabited by insomniacs. But the location was great. We had breakfast in a cafe a couple hundred yards down the road. We used taxis to get about, all very quick and cheap. Back to te hotel - friendly staff, nice room. You get what gou pay for and we knew the price didn't include breakfast. Tea and coffee making facilities in room

Room Tip: The cottage was modern and clean but had creaky floors for those light sleepers. Iys an old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thabelro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I booked tickets to see Micky Flanagan as a surprise for my boyf for valentines day.... All the London dates were end of 2013 & I wanted it to be around valentines day.... So when I saw the Portsmouth show was on a weekend, I thought why not make a weekend of it.... I booked it via booking .com & the reviews for this place that was reasonably priced around the budget I wanted to spend.... We're good, so I booked it....

When we got there it was a little delight.... Went into pub to announce our arrival, the street outside is very busy & initially I was disappointed that it was all pay & display.... But the guy on reception gave us a permit to put in window screen to show we was a guest, so that was free.... We then walked thru pub out onto a cobbled courtyard out the back.... Situated behind was a really cute little cottage, with iron fencing around it..... This cottage is The sort u imagine in the country, the ones u draw when you are little with door in middle with 4 windows, 2 either side of door & above.....basically this cottage was split into 4 Bedsit type rooms... Our was top of the stairs.... Opening the door we was standing in a newly decorated modern room, neutral colours with a splash of colours this was plum.... In the curtains, cushions on bed & a wall art canvas..... Nice big bed.... Decent size flat screen tv on wall.... Tea & coffee making facilities on the chest of drawers..... There was a second room that also slept 2 more people & a bathroom with shower.... Tasteful decorated, modern looking neutral tiles with chrome accessories.....
Honestly this standard at £50..... We were really impressed......

The cab ride to the gunwhalf quays was something ridiculous like £3 or £4 which is like a starting price in London just to get in ..... I was less than 5 minutes..... Here you can eat a a massive amount of restuarants.... They're clubs & of course the outlet shopping....

Even though this is just behind the pub, we heard nothing.....

Would definitely recommend this place.....was really clean & staff were friendly & happy to offer advice etc

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coodle171180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Located in Old Portsmouth, a really lovely area.
Easy walk to seafront and to Historic Harbour.
Room modern and fresh; food was excellent.
The staff were friendly and helpful. We needed to borrow a mobile charger and they were able to oblige with no fuss.
We paid £8.50 each for a fantastic breakfast; highly recommended, worth every penny.
A great bargain and a place we will certainly return to.

Room Tip: We were in the 'cottage' annex at the rear of the pub which was charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
0.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#12 of 38 in Portsmouth
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Of Buckingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Of Buckingham

Property: Duke Of Buckingham
Address: 119 High Street, Portsmouth PO1 2HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke Of Buckingham 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Old Portsmouth and surrounded by a wealth of sea faring history, The Duke of Buckingham offers the perfect destination. Our Stylish accommodation with FREE parking is perfect for a short break or longer stay. We are just minutes from the beach and bustling harbour with Gunwharf Quays, HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and Portsmouth`s Historic Dockyard all within easy walking distance. We very much look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay in Portsmouth a great one! Please note - We do not serve breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Duke Of Buckingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Buckingham Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing