We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room, no service, poor shower”
Review of Duke Of Buckingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duke Of Buckingham
Ranked #5 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tiny room, no service, poor shower”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Booked here as other friends were nearby for a birthday party. The single room I was in was tiny, especially the en suite bathroom. The staff were indifferent at check in, there was renovating stuff on the landings and my shower failed to drain properly. Breakfast wasn't included (but the cafe across the road is great). Also, if you're out late you have to call the owners to let you in. Not ideal. Need a better system. Overall disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHM_80_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.

Our single rooms are a smaller size as they are of course only to accommodate one person. Because of this we do price the single rooms very competitively. I am sorry if our check-in staff seemed indifferent and I will establish who was on duty and address this issue.

During the time you stayed with us we cannot record doing any renovation works. However if you did check in earlier than 3pm we may have still had housekeeping staff busily getting the rooms and public areas clean. Sometimes we allow guests to check in much earlier than our earliest check-in time if the room is ready but of course we still have to clean all the other rooms.

Unfortunately we do not serve breakfast but this should have been mentioned when you booked your room. We provide our guests with front door keys so they can come and go as they please and I do apologise if such a key was not included with your room key.

We thank you again for writing a review. Customer service is very important to us and all feedback helps improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    263
    94
    36
    18
See reviews for
132
285
60
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms are small but clean and with good bedding
They don't do breakfast but the coffee shop down the road called Manna is very good

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hazel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Travelling with family, 5 adults and 4 children in total we got the cottage at the rear of the pub it was perfect small courtyard great for the kids running in and out.
Spacious rooms we had room 18 which had a seperate single bed in a room off the main bedroom, so my neice stayed in our room with her own little space. I loved the fact that they supply a proper sized kettle and decent sized cups.
My only gripe was that the wifi didnt reach the cottage and breakfast at the pub would have been handy.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stays with us. We all work very hard to ensure our guests leave happy and to read comments like your is so rewarding.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you back at The Duke of Buckingham soon!

Sarah & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is an excellent value option if you are staying in Portsmouth, with nicely fitted out rooms that are easily as good as Premier inn etc. Near Old Portsmouth and the Gunwharf shopping, IOW boats etc. Has a separate entrance to use to save going through the pub each time you leave.

The pub itself is OK, has a few ales on offer, the food is not great though considering its price - so if you're staying here you would probably be better off going into the Gunwharf for one of the waterfront restaurants there, for a better meal for your money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfre70562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stays with us. We all work very hard to ensure our guests leave happy and to read comments like your is so rewarding.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you back at The Duke of Buckingham soon!

Sarah & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Lovely hotel room, lovely pub, lovely food. Stayed over for a night and ate in the pub on the evening. Although the room was very clean and looked after, I did notice that the walls could do with a scrub down. Other then that I can say I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stays with us. We all work very hard to ensure our guests leave happy and to read comments like your is so rewarding.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you back at The Duke of Buckingham soon!

Sarah & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed here with my husband while visiting friends. The duke of Buckingham was the friendliest place I've stayed. We had a warm welcome by the staff who showed us to our room and organised our free parking. We enjoyed some lovely wine in the relaxed atmosphere of the bar by the cosy fire and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are spotless and nicely designed. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really do appreciate it.

All the staff work hard to ensure our guests leave happy and it really is so rewarding when we read reviews like yours, so thank you so very much.

Thank you once again and we very much look forward to seeing you back at G! Boutique Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here many times but never took the time to sell it. Wonderful staff all round from management to the cleaners. A very warm family feeling as personal as doing my laundry when I said I was extending my stay. Come and see them.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank peejaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and its great to hear the staff looked after you. We all work very hard to ensure our guests leave happy and to read comments like your is so rewarding.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you back at The Duke of Buckingham in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
3.8 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,199 reviews
0.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#12 of 38 in Portsmouth
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Of Buckingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Of Buckingham

Property: Duke Of Buckingham
Address: 119 High Street, Portsmouth PO1 2HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke Of Buckingham 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Old Portsmouth and surrounded by a wealth of sea faring history, The Duke of Buckingham offers the perfect destination. Our Stylish accommodation with FREE parking is perfect for a short break or longer stay. We are just minutes from the beach and bustling harbour with Gunwharf Quays, HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and Portsmouth`s Historic Dockyard all within easy walking distance. We very much look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay in Portsmouth a great one! Please note - We do not serve breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Duke Of Buckingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Buckingham Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing