We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”
Review of Duke Of Buckingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duke Of Buckingham
Ranked #5 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Booked a single room for an overnight visit to Portsmouth.Friendy checking in staff,nice room ,small but perfectly adequate for single traveller.Comfortable bed and room was spotless .Free parking permit as well.Would certainly stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 456steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you found the hotel “great value” and that you found our staff “friendly”. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    255
    88
    33
    18
See reviews for
124
271
58
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I and four friends spent the night here to visit the Historic Dockyard. The rooms were clean and well furnished and excellent value for the £55 we paid for single occupancy. It is well situated for the dockyard, and a parking permit was provided. We dined there, and the food was high quality and well presented. The waitress was efficient and charming, as were all the staff. The café just up the road that was recommended for breakfast was better than many expensive hotel breakfasts for half the price. We shall be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuddleyian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for the great review. Our hotel is in an excellent location that is close to the seafront, Gunwharf Quays and the dockyard, so we are pleased you found this. We are also more than happy that you found us excellent value for money and our staff charming. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTHAMPTON
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Basic,clean and does what it says on label. Stayed one night whilst visiting friends who live 8 mins from the pub. Didn't need breakfast so issue for us, the room ( 16 ) was spacious with a comfortable double/ Queen size bed. No hair dryer but I had read previous reviews and were aware of that, a bit annoying if you only twigged this once out of the shower I would imagine. Talking of which the shower was fab. Could with some drapes at the window, we were on the ground floor and just felt that blinds just weren't all that.
Close to local venues, and able to go as pleased. Don't usually like "boarding" type places but this was fine , free parking and found the staff very friendly. Yes would stay here again for a night .

Room Tip: Bring hair dyer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazyosb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are glad to hear that we could provide a good quality place for you to stay whilst your enjoyed your time with friends. We hope that next time you come to Portsmouth we are able to do this again for you. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here as we were down in Portsmouth to see the mighty York City win 1-0 !! Free
parking, good beer ( though I had only one ! ) and friendly staff. Special mention of Cameron ! We decided to eat here and there was plenty of choice and it turned out that and the food was very tasty ! If you are having the mixed grill, don`t have a starter ! Excellent portions and a good wine list. Seats in the pub were comfortable and there is a fire at one end.

Comfortable room with a big Sony TV. Tea, coffee and plenty of milk
cartons !

Room Tip: Room 19 is at the back of the pub therefore quiet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it’s always pleasing to hear guests call our hotel “a gem”. We are happy to hear that your room was comfortable and we were able to meet your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I visited here with friends a week ago. My friends stayed in the building at the back of the pub. The twin room had 2 double beds in it and was very comfortable and very reasonably priced. I stayed in the pub in the single room. Yes it is small but I only slept there. The bed was comfortable. There is a separate entrance for coming back late. The staff were pleasant. The location is superb. 5 minutes from Gunn Wharf. Parking is outside the pub with the parking permits they supply. For a night in Portsmouth the Duke of Buckingham is fantastic value.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back at The Duke of Buckingham in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Booked here as other friends were nearby for a birthday party. The single room I was in was tiny, especially the en suite bathroom. The staff were indifferent at check in, there was renovating stuff on the landings and my shower failed to drain properly. Breakfast wasn't included (but the cafe across the road is great). Also, if you're out late you have to call the owners to let you in. Not ideal. Need a better system. Overall disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHM_80_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay.

Our single rooms are a smaller size as they are of course only to accommodate one person. Because of this we do price the single rooms very competitively. I am sorry if our check-in staff seemed indifferent and I will establish who was on duty and address this issue.

During the time you stayed with us we cannot record doing any renovation works. However if you did check in earlier than 3pm we may have still had housekeeping staff busily getting the rooms and public areas clean. Sometimes we allow guests to check in much earlier than our earliest check-in time if the room is ready but of course we still have to clean all the other rooms.

Unfortunately we do not serve breakfast but this should have been mentioned when you booked your room. We provide our guests with front door keys so they can come and go as they please and I do apologise if such a key was not included with your room key.

We thank you again for writing a review. Customer service is very important to us and all feedback helps improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms are small but clean and with good bedding
They don't do breakfast but the coffee shop down the road called Manna is very good

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hazel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
1.5 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
3.8 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Of Buckingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Of Buckingham

Property: Duke Of Buckingham
Address: 119 High Street, Portsmouth PO1 2HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke Of Buckingham 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Old Portsmouth and surrounded by a wealth of sea faring history, The Duke of Buckingham offers the perfect destination. Our Stylish accommodation with FREE parking is perfect for a short break or longer stay. We are just minutes from the beach and bustling harbour with Gunwharf Quays, HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and Portsmouth`s Historic Dockyard all within easy walking distance. We very much look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay in Portsmouth a great one! Please note - We do not serve breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Duke Of Buckingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Buckingham Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing