We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, and staff, more ideal for short stays”
Review of Duke Of Buckingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duke Of Buckingham
Ranked #5 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
great britain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good location, and staff, more ideal for short stays”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed here recently for 3 nights. On arrival got the information we needed, the staff on the reception were always polite. Check in was quick and without any difficulties.

Was put in room 14. Was glad that i had packed a bag and not a suitcase as there is no lift. Room was easy to find. I found my room to be clean, and had a good supply of tea and coffee and well maintained. Shower worked easily. As did the tv and kettle. Did find the room to be rather small so not ideal had we booked for any longer. The beds was a let down, rather uncomfortable, pillows rather flat with no support to them. There was some kind of generator or something on the roof outside the side of the building my room was on, that was on all the time. Felt had a choice, window open cool air and noise, window closed quiet and too hot. Didn't get much sleep through out my stay.

The location was very good, a short walk to the shops, cafes and dock yard, was nice to go out and come back with ease.

Used the pub for dinner first night. Felt that the choice was very limited but did enjoy the food got. Highly recommend the chinese opposite. Very Nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad to hear you found our staff to be informative and polite.

Also Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback All customer feedback helps us improve and the points you mentioned are being looked in to. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    260
    91
    35
    18
See reviews for
130
281
60
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If it is excellent value you want, then a stay at The Duke of Buckingham is a real winner! My wife and I spent a weekend last year visiting the Historic Dockyards and Gunwharf Quays and we chose to spend an overnighter at a local hotel/pub. The Duke of Buckingham fitted the bill perfectly offering comfortable, clean accommodation and within walking distance from these attractions. We also decided to have our evening meal at the hotel and was pleasantly surprised to note that a bottle of wine was also included. The staff were very friendly and the service was great. We will be back to stay here again this summer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for leaving such a great review, we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and found us to be a "winner". We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here for 1 night with my partner and 14 year old son in room 8. The room was quite spacious with a double bed and a camp bed. The colour scheme reminded me a little of a Premier Inn (shades of purple). We chose to stay here as we needed to be near Gun Wharf and it's about a 10 minute walk, so ideal. We had tea and coffee making facilities although no biscuits were provided. There was a large shower and a small basin where the water ran away very slowly. Everything appeared to be clean and tidy. We didn't eat or drink here so cannot comment on the actual pub. I would stay here again if I was visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caron105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for the taking the time to review us. Our hotel is in an excellent location that is close to the seafront, Gunwharf Quays and the dockyard, so we are pleased you found this. We are sorry to hear that your basin was running slow and have now fixed this problem. We hope this did not effect the enjoyment of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent 3 nights in the Duke of Buckingham last week. The position is excelent, about 10 minutes walk to gunwharf key and the docks museum and about the same in the other direction to the Isle of Whight hovercraft. The room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated and the price was very reasonable for its location. We have a 1 year ticket for the docks museum and intend to return to Portsmouth later in the year. We will definately stay here again. Can't comment on the food as we did not eat in but the pub looked very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are glad to here that we could provide such an excellent location for you to stay at whilst your enjoyed the dockyard. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We've just had a wonderful weekend away for my wifes birthday.We haven't been to Portsmouth before so we looked on trip advisor to find our hotel. Reading some excellent reviews we decided on The Duke of Buckingham. Our choice did not disappoint, from start to finish our stay was great. We got given a parking permit so we could park for free.Spaces were plentiful just outside the hotel and the area quiet and safe. Overall we felt we got good value for money,the room was quite spacious, very clean and nicey appointed, with a modern well finished decor. The rooms are above a bar and restaurant which looked nice although we did not eat there. In the area there are lots of lovely places to have a drink and eat. old portsmouth is a great place for a weekend away and we would highy recommend this hotel, 10 out of 10!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Saxon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We our pleased that we could be a great place to stay whilst your enjoyed your wife's birthday. We hope that you can come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Found the Duke of Buckingham by chance, doing an internet search. What a find! Friendly staff, lovely comfy room (best hotel/b&b bed I've slept in for years!) and lovely pub.
We stayed in a small room in the cottage at the back of the pub in a room with a double and one single bed. Small but clean shower room with nice toiletries supplied and option to buy any bits you might have forgotten. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Parking permit provided free of charge.
Easy walk to Gunwharf Quay and Historic ships and also just up the road from the cathedral, if you're interested! Incidentally, very helpful and informative people at the cathedral!
We were going to a concert at the Guildhall and it was about 15 mins level walk to get there.
We only had a drink in the pub but the menu looked good.
They don't supply breakfast but there's a lovely café over the road - Manna - with very reasonably priced food and lovely, friendly staff.
I'd definitely recommend The Duke of Buckingham and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Cottage at the back was lovely and quiet with own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robster_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Ate here on a Saturday evening, in a party of 12. Excellent food, beautifully cooked and presented, and polite and efficient service. Although my wife had eaten here recently with a friend, and had a good meal then, I really hadn't expected such quality. We'll definitiely go there more often!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,496 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
0.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#12 of 38 in Portsmouth
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Of Buckingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Of Buckingham

Property: Duke Of Buckingham
Address: 119 High Street, Portsmouth PO1 2HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke Of Buckingham 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Old Portsmouth and surrounded by a wealth of sea faring history, The Duke of Buckingham offers the perfect destination. Our Stylish accommodation with FREE parking is perfect for a short break or longer stay. We are just minutes from the beach and bustling harbour with Gunwharf Quays, HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and Portsmouth`s Historic Dockyard all within easy walking distance. We very much look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay in Portsmouth a great one! Please note - We do not serve breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Duke Of Buckingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Buckingham Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing