We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pompy Uni Visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    457
    287
    100
    69
See reviews for
299
397
133
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

As we were heading to France on the ferry we needed just a basic stopover for 1 night and were pleasantly surprised.
Chose the Etap over a B&B due to its great pricing. Clean and basic rooms with everything you need for a short stay. Perhaps not 'holiday' accommodation but serves a purpose with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ausamanda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to the hotel again. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I booked this hotel for a trip to Portsmouth with my sister because the price was so reasonable but we weren't expecting such a warm and friendly welcome from the team.

The room itself wasn't particularly big but was clean and had everything we needed for the duration of our stay. Unfortunately my sister was taken ill on the second night of our stay but the reception staff did all they could to help and upon my checkout, enquired kindly about my sister's welfare.

Although this hotel is not located in the centre of Portsmouth, it is located near enough to Fratton railway station so you can just hop on to a train to get into the city if you don't have a car. They also have a small car park which was free once you got a permit from reception.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an affordable hotel that is clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skybird14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear them. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Portsmouth. Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Spent 3 nights at the hotel on a family football break. Both rooms had non functioning blinds but we were promptly moved to new rooms when we complained but these were little better. Service was friendly and helpful but this hotel definitely needs the upgrade planned for later this year.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saspompey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you very much for posting your thoughts, I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
3.7 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Property: Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Address: Unit 4 The Pompey Centre Fratton Way | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAQAS BIN TAHIR, the manager of the Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth hotel, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth is a low-cost hotel situated in Fratton, 5 minutes walking distance of Fratton Train Station, close to Pompey FC, Portsmouth City Centre. Great proximity to the beach, shopping and nightlife of the town. All 120 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and has en-suite shower, air cooling as well as flat screen TV with Freeview. As much as you can eat continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at £5.50. Free Wi-Fi available for all guests. Free offsite parking at B&Q opposite the hotel (permit is required from reception). Limited onsite parking on first come first serve basis. Ferry Terminals, Gunwharf, Guildhall, Spinnaker Tower, D-Day Museum and Historic Dockyards are 10 minutes away by car or taxi for those who would like to explore beautiful Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing