We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“First class”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Really enjoyed our stay very comfortable and clean,would recomend it to my friends,the only small complaint was the mirror was to far away from the sockets,,my hair dryer wouldn't go that far,hope to be back some day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ruie1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were very pleased to read that you were satisfied with your stay and that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    479
    300
    109
    70
See reviews for
311
417
137
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed in the Ibis budget for two nights and found it to be a good cheap hotel, you only get what you pay for but thats all I needed.

The good points are the location is out of town and next to the Portsmouth football statium if you like football, ther is also a KFC and McDonalds opposite if you need a quick meal. The TV in the room is good and has alot of channels. The bed was slightly hard but still comfortable

The bad points are the room is very small, with a tiny seperate toilet with no window and a small shower in the room. The maid didnt bother to even make the bed when cleaning the room and she removed the wet towels and soap and didnt replace them, so I had to go and ask for more. There was also only one small pillow per person but the receptionist gave me two more. The room is very small but all you need for a weekend trip, I wouldnt want to stay any longer as there is no clothes storage. There was only one plug socket right away from the mirror so made doing my hair awkward. Lastly The aircon wouldn't turn on cool only on heat so I got a little hot.

Overall a great hotel for a weekend trip alone or as a couple, I wouldnt want to have 3 people in that small room though.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzybee_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that your stay was, broadly speaking, a pleasant experience. The points of criticism have been noted and, where necessary, will be investigated so as to improve the services we provide.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macleay Island, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

We drove down from Gatwick and were very surprised at the standard for the money we paid. The room was very clean with a separate loo in the room, large shower and hand basin in the room. The bed was very comfortable and large. We found it very quiet. Did not try the breakfast as we found comparable value close by. The number 1 bus stop is not far away and takes you to gun wharf where the main attractions are. It is actually a loop trip so we took the short way into the wharf and returned the long way which showed us some of old Portsmouth as well some more of the sea side

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keithmay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that your stay with us exceeded your expectations and hope to be able to welcome you to the Ibis Budget Portsmouth again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2013

staff helpful, clean rooms and surrounding area , £8,40 for taxi for 6 to wharf waked back ,

beds too hard we have used many Etps through out France and found them to be comfotable we like the firm beds this was like sleeping on a table,so would be reluctant to return ..shameas otherwise great.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Frenchie250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that the majority of your stay was enjoyable. Your comments regarding the firmness of the mattresses have been noted and will be taken under advisement. We hope that the sum of the experience will help you overcome your reluctance to stay at the Ibis Budget Portsmouth again and look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2013

All perfect......Value for money.........only one suggestion....the breakfast needs improvement.
All perfect......Value for money.........only one suggestion....the breakfast needs improvement.
All perfect......Value for money.........only one suggestion....the breakfast needs improvement.
All perfect......Value for money.........only one suggestion....the breakfast needs improvement.
All perfect......Value for money.........only one suggestion....the breakfast needs improvement.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank omninocte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that your experience was a positive one. We look forward to your next visit and hope that you have the opportunity to try the new items in our breakfast buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Having planned to arrive late on a friday night and depart early the following morning the IBIS budget was the best value choice by far. I was initially a little sceptical of the double room going by the description - but was pleasently suprised by the size and cleanliness of the room. Good blinds meant we weren't disturbed by early morning sun! Although the shower didnt offer the best amount of room - it was powerful and hot (a bit of a rarity in my experience in modern hotels nowadays). Only slight negatives were the bed was a little firm for my wife, and the corridors were narrow and slightly noisy - buy hey, for the price I will be coming back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Priesty846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed for one night due to attending an event at The Barn which was roughly five minutes away. Hotel is close to Fratton station as well. The staff at reception were friendly and check in was quick and easy. The room was basic but at least it was clean and comfortable, just wish there was more pillows. Had a nice nights sleep. Breakfast was cereals, toast and drinks and was served next to reception. I noticed someone mentioned in another review about purchasing tokens to get the tea/coffee...myself and i noticed others didn't have to purchase tokens. Overall a nice hotel and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffersBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you to the Ibis Budget, Portsmouth again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,523 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
3.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth
Travelodge Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
797 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Property: Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Address: Unit 4 The Pompey Centre Fratton Way | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAQAS BIN TAHIR, the manager of the Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth hotel, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth is a low-cost hotel situated in Fratton, 5 minutes walking distance of Fratton Train Station, close to Pompey FC, Portsmouth City Centre. Great proximity to the beach, shopping and nightlife of the town. All 120 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and has en-suite shower, air cooling as well as flat screen TV with Freeview. As much as you can eat continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at £5.50. Free Wi-Fi available for all guests. Free offsite parking at B&Q opposite the hotel (permit is required from reception). Limited onsite parking on first come first serve basis. Ferry Terminals, Gunwharf, Guildhall, Spinnaker Tower, D-Day Museum and Historic Dockyards are 10 minutes away by car or taxi for those who would like to explore beautiful Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing