We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel at budget price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Le Buisson De Cadoui
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good hotel at budget price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, just what was needed after a long day, late arrival and very..very..bad ferry crossing! Room was better than I expected, comfortable and with everything needed. Some food available, and drinks. Breakfast was plentiful and good quality. Only downside was having to use 'B&Q carpark. Dedicated hotel parking would be better, but it is a city centre and the price couldn't be beaten for all round value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Horseabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased to read that your stay was a pleasant one. We hope that you will stay with us again soon and look forward to welcoming you.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    466
    291
    101
    69
See reviews for
301
402
135
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

If you need just a bed for a night then look no further. Very good value for the money. Bedroom clean. I had a good night sleep and that's what counts. In the future when passing by I would use it again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Michal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Had some difficulty finding the hotel. If you head for Fratton station, you are close. The parking is in the B&Q car park across the road. You need a car park pass from reception, which is free. You can park by the hotel to unload. The hotel is clean and the staff helpful, The rooms have a shower cubicle in the room, only the toilet is separate, but the shower is powerful.

We only paid £30 for the room, it was cheaper on the Ibis site than Booking.com.

We used it to be ready for the early ferry. There is no kettle in the room, take your own.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We just wanted a clean bed for the night as we were visiting the Mary Rose the following day and that is exactly what we got. The rooms are smaller than a travelodge and very basic, but that is why it's 'budget'.
The staff were excellent and very friendly and the desk is manned 24/7. We had our 11 and 18 year old children with us in a separate room, and without even asking they made sure our rooms were together.
The rooms were clean, had free wifi and a tv. There were no tea/coffee making facilities, but we knew this and so took our own kettle and provisions.
It was a little unusual to have the shower in the room with you, especially with a glass door, I think that is the only thing I'd change (the door) however the shower itself was great, very powerful. The towels provided were quite small, so if you like a large towel, take your own, but from a sign I saw, if you are staying more that one night and reuse your towel you get a discount on your stay.
Overall, very good, we would certainly use Ibis budget again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you would stay with us again. We look forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Very cheap and cheerful. As a previous resident of Portsmouth I know the place well. This hotel is located not far from the city centre. A Very short drive or cab ride that will not cost more than a fiver in the hustle and bustle. Almost unlimited amount of parking too. Always very clean rooms. Do not expect fantastic customers service/breakfast/a bar or other amenities, but if you are booking at these prices and expect all of that you are from another planet!

reocmmend every time!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMetzner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the experience. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The room was modern & clean. I shared with a male friend so I ended up in the bunk bed, which I had to make myself, not easy when you are kneeling on it!
Being up close to the ceiling was very hot, even in November with the heating off & window open. Along with the rubber backed incontinence sheet, this led to two sweaty, stinky sleepless nights.
The shower was great though, powerful & hot.
I did find the tap water to have an overpowering smell & taste of chlorine. I had to buy a large bottle of water for drinking. There were no kettle or drink making facilities in the room either.
I would rather have had a kettle instead of the TV.
One major irritant was that there were only 2 electric sockets, both in the far corner of the room, so that it was impossible to see in a mirror when using electrical hair styling items..!!!
It was OK for £30.00 per night.
Just remember to pack an extension lead & kettle!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank MelodyLee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Your feedback is appreciated and your comments have been taken under advisement. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Property: Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Address: Unit 4 The Pompey Centre Fratton Way | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAQAS BIN TAHIR, the manager of the Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth hotel, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth is a low-cost hotel situated in Fratton, 5 minutes walking distance of Fratton Train Station, close to Pompey FC, Portsmouth City Centre. Great proximity to the beach, shopping and nightlife of the town. All 120 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and has en-suite shower, air cooling as well as flat screen TV with Freeview. As much as you can eat continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at £5.50. Free Wi-Fi available for all guests. Free offsite parking at B&Q opposite the hotel (permit is required from reception). Limited onsite parking on first come first serve basis. Ferry Terminals, Gunwharf, Guildhall, Spinnaker Tower, D-Day Museum and Historic Dockyards are 10 minutes away by car or taxi for those who would like to explore beautiful Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing