We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Pillfam O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Having used the Ibis hotels and been happy with them over many years it was only natural to look at what was available in the Portsmouth area. The Ibis Portsmouth Central ruled itself out by not having a car park same goes for Southampton parking charges & distance ruled that out so we thought we would try the Ibis Budget Portsmouth. The receptionist was very helpful & courteous on arrival the room was the smallest and least accommodating room I have ever had. The bunk bed over the double bed was a pain in the head we both banged our heads several times on that, the wash basin area had very little space for our washing toiletries the desk/shelf was absolutely minimal I cant imagine how overcrowded the room would have been with three occupants and then there was the bed or broken biscuit mattress another night on that and I would have required the services of a Chiropractor the floor of the room was dirty on arrival & hadn’t been vacuumed during our stay. Perhaps the only good point was that we weren't kept awake or woken by closing doors as they did unusually close relatively quietly but there was an awful lot of noise from what I presume to be a boiler. We didn't try the breakfast as for a similar price we could use the local chain pub. Perhaps the reception staff sensed our dislike for this hotel as we weren't asked on leaving if we had enjoyed our stay. Also the window opening restraint was broken allowing the window to open fully.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Rowlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were disappointed to read that your experience of our facilities fell so far below par. Your comments regarding the mattress have been noted and solutions are being considered. We appreciate your feedback and the opportunity to improve our services.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel to be close to Portsmouth FC as our local team were playing away. If we come here again we will certainly be paying the extra money for a premier inn.
The room was small and basic which was fine, but I've truly never had such an uncomfortable nights sleep. I think sleeping on the pavement outside would have been more comfortable! Thin pillows (of which we had to ask for more) and very worn bedding. People running up and down the corridors and banging on your door in the middle of the night.
We knew we would have a basic room which was absolutely fine, but I now have terrible back ache due to 2 nights tossing and turning.
Would not recommend and would never stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your with us. It is unfortunate that your stay was marred by the lack of consideration of other guests. Your comments regarding the beds and pillows have been noted and we are grateful for the invaluable feedback. We hope that you will reconsider your decision and opt to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to Portsmouth.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Ideal hotel with really clean facilities, powerful shower and a great tv size mounted on the wall with many tv channels to choose from. Helpful front of house as we had a trailer pump and they let us bolt it to the cycle rack outside on the pavement. I would highly recommend this place

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that your stay was a pleasant one and hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Portsmouth.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Booked through a well known online site this hotel is clean, green and has to be seen as a low cost, comfortable hotel with good access into town and with a fuel prices coming down there is conveniently placed Shell garage right around the corner, along with a fast food restaurant that serves good coffee and an inexpensive breakfast.
We got a taxi from the front door to Rosies Vineyard all for a few quid each way and had a fantastic evening there, so the £40 stay for one night at the Ibis was a welcomed bonus.
Definitely give this place a go.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fourth floor can take a while to get too if the lift in the lobby is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that your requirements were met during your stay and that you had a pleasant experience. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you as guests again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

First Time Visit and as soon as i walked in I Was greeted by Smiles and a Very Welcoming attitude by the Staff and i Cannot Fault the Staff or the Hotel One Bit.
Rooms have Excellent Lighting and A/C Controls.
I Will Definitely Recommend this Hotel to Others and Stay Again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chilled2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted to know that your stay was such a positive experience and look forward to the opportunity to receive you as a guest soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#24 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,564 reviews
3.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,261 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#33 of 39 in Portsmouth
434 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Address: Unit 4 The Pompey Centre Fratton Way | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: £37 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAQAS BIN TAHIR, the manager of the Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth hotel, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth is a low-cost hotel situated in Fratton, 5 minutes walking distance of Fratton Train Station, close to Pompey FC, Portsmouth City Centre. Great proximity to the beach, shopping and nightlife of the town. All 120 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and has en-suite shower, air cooling as well as flat screen TV with Freeview. As much as you can eat continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at £5.50. Free Wi-Fi available for all guests. Free offsite parking at B&Q opposite the hotel (permit is required from reception). Limited onsite parking on first come first serve basis. Ferry Terminals, Gunwharf, Guildhall, Spinnaker Tower, D-Day Museum and Historic Dockyards are 10 minutes away by car or taxi for those who would like to explore beautiful Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing