We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    473
    295
    103
    70
See reviews for
306
410
137
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I booked about 3 days before staying for £38. The Receptionist was very pleasant and quick to serve me. The room was on the third floor and exceptionally clean. It was quite cold but the heating worked well. Great shower and comfy bed. Smallish TV but no complaints. Could have done with a glass rather than a plastic cup for my glass of wine but at least there was something to drink out of. Thick walls and therefore no disturbing noises from any neighbours. Would def book again. Nice lighting round the walls and overhead.

Room Tip: Third floor was fine. No view but it was dark when I arrived and left!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophieni209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Ideal for football ground, clean, staff helpful, handy for the Albert rd nightlife. Just a £5 cab ride away if not up for a walk.Lots to see and do in the city. Limited parking at the site, but plenty over the road at B&Q with full permission as guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank CharlesYCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel met your requirements. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back as guests again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Rooms are small but clean. There are no tea or coffee making facilities so you have to pay £1.50 for a tea or coffee in their small cafeteria. Take your own kettle - takes you back quite a few years to have to be doing this. Parking is quite limited at the hotel so arrive early or you have to go and park in the B&Q car park across the road. Reasonable continental breakfast for a fiver.

All in all I would pay a little more and try another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essexhotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were pleased to read that your stay was a pleasant one and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Having used the Ibis hotels and been happy with them over many years it was only natural to look at what was available in the Portsmouth area. The Ibis Portsmouth Central ruled itself out by not having a car park same goes for Southampton parking charges & distance ruled that out so we thought we would try the Ibis Budget Portsmouth. The receptionist was very helpful & courteous on arrival the room was the smallest and least accommodating room I have ever had. The bunk bed over the double bed was a pain in the head we both banged our heads several times on that, the wash basin area had very little space for our washing toiletries the desk/shelf was absolutely minimal I cant imagine how overcrowded the room would have been with three occupants and then there was the bed or broken biscuit mattress another night on that and I would have required the services of a Chiropractor the floor of the room was dirty on arrival & hadn’t been vacuumed during our stay. Perhaps the only good point was that we weren't kept awake or woken by closing doors as they did unusually close relatively quietly but there was an awful lot of noise from what I presume to be a boiler. We didn't try the breakfast as for a similar price we could use the local chain pub. Perhaps the reception staff sensed our dislike for this hotel as we weren't asked on leaving if we had enjoyed our stay. Also the window opening restraint was broken allowing the window to open fully.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Rowlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were disappointed to read that your experience of our facilities fell so far below par. Your comments regarding the mattress have been noted and solutions are being considered. We appreciate your feedback and the opportunity to improve our services.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,494 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
3.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth
Travelodge Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Property: Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Address: Unit 4 The Pompey Centre Fratton Way | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAQAS BIN TAHIR, the manager of the Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth hotel, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth is a low-cost hotel situated in Fratton, 5 minutes walking distance of Fratton Train Station, close to Pompey FC, Portsmouth City Centre. Great proximity to the beach, shopping and nightlife of the town. All 120 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and has en-suite shower, air cooling as well as flat screen TV with Freeview. As much as you can eat continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at £5.50. Free Wi-Fi available for all guests. Free offsite parking at B&Q opposite the hotel (permit is required from reception). Limited onsite parking on first come first serve basis. Ferry Terminals, Gunwharf, Guildhall, Spinnaker Tower, D-Day Museum and Historic Dockyards are 10 minutes away by car or taxi for those who would like to explore beautiful Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing