We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,320)
Filter reviews
1,320 results
Traveller rating
285
511
323
120
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
511
323
120
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfratton stationfootball groundseparate toilettravel kettleno tea coffee making facilitiesfast food outletsroom was cleanwhat it says on the tinextra pillowsrooms are basiccontinental breakfastone night staypowerful showershort staywi fian overnight staycar parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
648 - 653 of 1,320 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I needed to go to Portsmouth at very short notice and this hotel was the best value for money for a chain hotel which I prefer.

It is situated near Portsmouth FC ground and a retail park with a McDonalds, KFC and a Subway. It has its own free car park or if this is full you can park at the nearby B&Q car park. I got a space in the hotel car park and was issued with a pass to put in my car.

I didn't eat at the hotel, but they have a self service cabinet with snacks, chocolate and alcohol, but at £1.20 for a regular chocolate bar and £4.95 for a very small bottle of wine, I didn't bother.

The room was clean with laminate flooring. I was on my own, so the unusual layout of the shower cabinet and sink in the room wasn't a problem. If you were travelling with children or friends it could be a problem stepping out of the shower into the room to get your towels. A simple glass brick wall could solve this.

The bed was a rock and the pillows were too big (I'm used to memory foam at home). As I had a double to myself, I folded the duvet in half and slept on that, this made it better. With Travelodge and Premier Inn offering comfortable beds, maybe this is something they need to think about.

As it was a mid-week stay there seemed to be a lot of contractors staying at the hotel, I didn't see another woman apart from the receptionist in the morning. I didn't feel unsafe though.

The free wi-fi was a bonus, you didn't need a code - just your name and email address on the sign in page.

Would I come back here? Probably yes. I would have got a much better deal if I had more notice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased to read that your stay left you satisfied with the experience and to note that you would stay again. We look forward to receiving you.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Room Tip: SHower could be bigger
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as was going to watch the Portsmouth v Plymouth football match. Also to meet up with some old Navy mates. Chose this a it was cheap and also near the football ground. It's a budget hotel and perfect for the price. Has a double bed and a bunk bed over it so perfect for 3 people. Shower is good, but a tight squeeze. Staff were friendly. Had the breakfast, but if I was to stay there again I'd probably walk over to the Macdonalds. Breakfast is basic, 2 cereals, toast and fruit. I managed to park outside the hotel, there are about 6 spaces.But if not you can park in the B&Q car park.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickboyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with your experience at the Ibis Budget Portsmouth and hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Portsmouth.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews