We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“One night stopover”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Exactly what I expected from this budget hotel the room was tiny with nothing in it other than the bed and TV the shower room was a plastic cubicle in the corner the toilet also cubicle next to it that said it was absolutely fine for one night stopover we were only here for an evening function so only spent a couple of hours in the room anyway the room was very tidy and no complaints over that the bed was absolutely rock solid. We were in room 121 ,the view from the window was a brick wall about 4 foot away but we didn't book it for the view so that was fine also if you are on a shoestring budget (we paid £59) and want somewhere clean to stay then I would recommend this hotel nothing fancy but it does what it says on the label

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased to read that the Ibis Budget Portsmouth met your expectations and hope for the opportunity to surpass those expectations in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    476
    298
    106
    70
See reviews for
308
414
137
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is at a good location, 15 mins walk from the beach.
Lots of food courts nearby, train station was only 10 mins walk away.
Friendly staff , only thing I missed in room was the fridge and toiletry and no room service.
But overall worth what we paid for.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I must confess that we picked the IBis on the basis of price rather than any other reason: our usual choice of Premier was just a bit too pricey on this particular night last week. We have used Ibis before but we found this one barely acceptable. The room was very small and uncomfortably hot and the shower room - a glorified cupboard. With a late arrival off the ferry and an early start I was grateful we only spent 9 hours in this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ColdstreamKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were disappointed to read that your stay was not a pleasant one. We appreciate the feedback and will be working on ways to ensure that future stays are not so sorely affected.

We hope you will visit again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Carpark is too small. Rooms are average. Service non-existing. If you don't expect much, this is ok. Rooms are boring. I have seen better and cheaper ones, not far from this hotel. But if you decide to stay here, you'll be ok, though not amazed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your comments have been noted and the utmost will be done to ensure that our service does not leave patrons as unimpressed as it has yourself. Our most sincere apologies.

We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back again soon for a genuinely hassle-free and pleasant stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Pretty much what to expect. A budget Ibis experience. Firm bed, clean room, good shower pressure, quiet. A 25 minute walk to town, but close to Pompey football stadium. Friendly and helpful staff. Average breakfast

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petrusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased that on your recent stay with us, your expectations were met and hope for another opportunity to provide you with a pleasant, hassle-free experience on your next visit to Portsmouth.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Great budget hotel, very clean rooms, good shower, nice staff, wifi worked well & plenty of free parking! 5 minutes walk From Fratton train station was useful too! Not in the best area for nice (walkable distance) restaurants unless you love fast food but price makes up for it!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank blw1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,511 reviews
3.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,199 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth
Travelodge Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Property: Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Address: Unit 4 The Pompey Centre Fratton Way | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAQAS BIN TAHIR, the manager of the Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth hotel, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth is a low-cost hotel situated in Fratton, 5 minutes walking distance of Fratton Train Station, close to Pompey FC, Portsmouth City Centre. Great proximity to the beach, shopping and nightlife of the town. All 120 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and has en-suite shower, air cooling as well as flat screen TV with Freeview. As much as you can eat continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at £5.50. Free Wi-Fi available for all guests. Free offsite parking at B&Q opposite the hotel (permit is required from reception). Limited onsite parking on first come first serve basis. Ferry Terminals, Gunwharf, Guildhall, Spinnaker Tower, D-Day Museum and Historic Dockyards are 10 minutes away by car or taxi for those who would like to explore beautiful Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing