We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

Stayed at hotel as were at a party in town. Room was modern and clean. There is no separate bathroom but a step in shower and separate toilet. The wash basin is in the main room. Towels and pillows are provided. There is a tv and a small rail for clothes. There is no kettle, so I would advise buying a cheap one.
Also be careful of the third bed (top bunk), as you will bang your head on the frame. We only did it four times between us and soon learnt to be a little more careful!!
The best thing about this hotel, other than the price, was that they have smoking rooms which are a major rarity. Don't particularly want to be traipsing outside in my pyjamas for a cigarette at 2 in the morning.
Staff were pretty good. Did not have the breakfast so don't know what it is like.
Parking is fine - if no spaces by hotel just get a pass to stay in the B & Q car park which is just over the road.
Would most definitely book there again - best hotel I have stayed in for a long time.
Thank you

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caitlinmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
Glad you had a good time at Etap Hotel in Portsmouth! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Mads Breum Nielsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    458
    287
    100
    69
See reviews for
299
397
133
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

I booked it because it was cheap and you definitely get what you pay for. Room was basic with no remote for the tv. Toilet and shower were ok. Towels are bit small and breakfast was ok. Staff were friendly and helpful at check in. What I didn't like was that the cleaniness of the room which needs improving. There was litter under the tv table and 3rd bed/bunk was covered in dust and a 5p piece. Indicating that it hadn't been cleaned in a while. I was a single traveller but that was too much to be honest. I could see the location being a problem if Portsmouth were playing at home!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank furryhamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience of the hotel. I’ll look into this personally and come back to you. Please send your email address or phone number to H6462@accor.com. Kind regards, Mads Breum Nielsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

Booked four rooms as a last resort at £35 rather than over £100 elsewhere. It's functional and basic and works. If you need them and you can take your own pillows, a kettle and stuff for tea/coffee in teh room and a hair dryer. Some rooms even have a view of teh Pompey football ground.... Parking is fun not many spaces next to hotel but parked in B&Q as advised and no problems. No noise from rowdy residents but i suspect we caught a good Saturday night....

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyoldmanMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapPortsmouth, General manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 29 April 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments,

I was very happy to read that you found the hotel good value for money and that you had a good nights sleep.

As a budget hotel we have cut back on all extras including the tea/coffee making facilities in the room this has been done to offer the best possible price to our guests.

We take pride in being the best value for money hotel on the Portsmouth market and we are currently upgrading all our bedrooms to make them even more comfortable in the future.

Again thank you for your kind comments I will share them with the entire team,

Kind Regards,

Mads Breum Nielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

Ok so the towels were not the biggest or thickest I have ever seen, but for £45 for two people it has to be great value. Greetings from helpful staff made for a good welcome and happy to deal with queries in an efficient and professional manner. Showers were good and bed very comfortable though wouldn't recommend having 3 to a room. Quite peaceful considering it was graduation week in the city. The 'scoff as much as you like' breakfast for under £3 was good with staff read to replenish instantly. Overall a very pleasant experience and will definately use these again even when they bunk up the prices for event weeks like graduations

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 30 July 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback it was a real plesure reading your comments and I have passed them on to all members of our team.

We were all pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found it good value for money. As a budget hotel we are committed to offering our customers the best price in town while also offering them the basic services expected of a hotel.

We look forward to your next visit to Etap Portsmouth.

Best Regards,

Mads Breum Nielsen
Hotel General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Green Country
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

I was greeted by a blonde with an attitude problem, unhelpful and rude. Usual basic Etap good standard. The remote control for TV was missing.
I was enjoying my breakfast until the same blonde coughed three times in her hand, failed to wash her hands, handled trays plates etc.
Confronting the blonde met with the same attitude problem, result no hand wash and germs everywhere (Swine flu?) Retrain or replace the blonde!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romaning-rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 30 July 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you found the room and amenities at a good standard, regarding remotes they are available from the reception for a small deposit which will be refunded on check out.

I was sad to read that our staff service did not meet your expectations, all our staff has been trough all legal and Accor internal training programs, Accor is committed to training and the development of staff members. I have taken your comments to the team so we can avoid similar situations in the future.

I hope we will see you again on your next visit to Portsmouth

Kind regards,

Mads Breum Nielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brittany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

When you book in here, they try and get you to fill in a long form. They have no right to do this so refuse. There was only one very small towel in the room, so my wife had to go and ask for more. The parking area is too small for the hotel, so you have to park in a supermarket car park some distance away. The WiFi is only available in reception and is very expensive. Opposite is a McDonalds where the WiFi is free. Whereas in France, ETAPs seem to run very efficiently with one person, here they seem to have six, which makes things less efficient, because the staff gather in the office to chat. Nearest decent restaurant is a Wetherspoons, about 1 km away.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 30 July 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to read your comments regarding your bedroom and that you found our products to be good value for money.

Regarding parking we have 25 car parking spaces immediately around the hotel and additional 75 spaces across the road 1 - 2 min walking distance. All parking is Free of Charge and secure with the latest in CCTV and a security firm doing checks.

The registration form is in a standard format, the same as you will find in any hotel. If you are visiting Etap Portsmouth regularly please ask our team for a regular guest file to be setup, this will shorten down the registration greatly.

We do provide WIFI, but as of yet it is only available in the public areas. It is a going concern that the WIFI connection should be extended to cover the entire hotel. I will take your comments to the Etap development meeting and present them to the Managing Director for Etap UK.

Again I would like to thank you for your feedback, I will share your comments with my team so we can continue to improve our service and deliver on our guest promise.

Kind regards,

Mads Breum Nielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

we stayed at this hotel on a Sat night, cheap as chips £35, really didn't want to pay anymore as only sleeping there. It did as it said on the can really, budget accomodation, clean room, nice power shower, very basic but thats what it said it was and no different. Free parking at the B & Q car park which was literally across the road, can't believe somebody moaned about that aspect, it's free for gods sake!!!! we found the staff on reception and the night security extremely friendly and helpful, no problem with this hotel whatsoever and will definately stay there again, it was fun! if you want a luxury hotel then pay £150 a night and book it. This hotel is merely a budget, stay 1 night place. There was a sign on the door saying "please keep the noise in the rooms down after 3am" I thought this was great as most of the people staying there would have been on hen or stag nights, def not a romantic getaway, we found that the night we were there was very quiet. No problem at all, stay here!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soulsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtapPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review, 30 July 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you fro your feedback. I was very pleased reading your comments, which I have shared with the entire team.

I am glad that we were delivered on your expectations and it is my and my teams pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Portsmouth.

Best Regards,

Mads Breum Nielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth
Travelodge Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Property: Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Address: Unit 4 The Pompey Centre Fratton Way | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAQAS BIN TAHIR, the manager of the Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth hotel, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth is a low-cost hotel situated in Fratton, 5 minutes walking distance of Fratton Train Station, close to Pompey FC, Portsmouth City Centre. Great proximity to the beach, shopping and nightlife of the town. All 120 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and has en-suite shower, air cooling as well as flat screen TV with Freeview. As much as you can eat continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at £5.50. Free Wi-Fi available for all guests. Free offsite parking at B&Q opposite the hotel (permit is required from reception). Limited onsite parking on first come first serve basis. Ferry Terminals, Gunwharf, Guildhall, Spinnaker Tower, D-Day Museum and Historic Dockyards are 10 minutes away by car or taxi for those who would like to explore beautiful Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing