We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice late lunch”

The Fisherman's Kitchen
Ranked #11 of 740 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Description: Fish & Chips is one of life's great pleasures. The smell of salt and vinegar on hot freshly cooked battered fish and chips is hard to beat and this national dish is well and truly part of British culture. The Fisherman's Kitchen was born from our love of Fish & Chips. Without meddling with this great British classic we set out to cook the best battered fish and chips around with crisp batter and perfectly cooked freshly cut chips. We also felt fish and chips didn't just have to be battered or be in the form of cod and haddock. We offer numerous grilled fish and seafood options alongside homemade salads, dips, a selection of side options and weekly specials all paired with great beers and wines. Sit in, takeaway or delivery from the comfort of your own home, the choice is yours. We hope to see you soon at The Fisherman's Kitchen soon.
Restaurant details
Description: Fish & Chips is one of life's great pleasures. The smell of salt and vinegar on hot freshly cooked battered fish and chips is hard to beat and this national dish is well and truly part of British culture. The Fisherman's Kitchen was born from our love of Fish & Chips. Without meddling with this great British classic we set out to cook the best battered fish and chips around with crisp batter and perfectly cooked freshly cut chips. We also felt fish and chips didn't just have to be battered or be in the form of cod and haddock. We offer numerous grilled fish and seafood options alongside homemade salads, dips, a selection of side options and weekly specials all paired with great beers and wines. Sit in, takeaway or delivery from the comfort of your own home, the choice is yours. We hope to see you soon at The Fisherman's Kitchen soon.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very nice late lunchtime meal, tasty chips, homemade tartare and generous tea. Efficient service. Only grumble is that our meal was £8.00 on the menu but we were charged £9.00.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank quentingallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We'd heard good things about The Fisherman's Kitchen so having a day off we decided to try it for lunch. It turned out to be a great decision. Robyn, served us and took our order. The service was friendly, welcoming and attentive throughout our meal. We both ordered the Cod and Chips. Both with Pea Puree and mine with a side of curry sauce and a cup of tea. We sat in the restaurant area for the meal and it wasn't a takeaway. The cups if tea were bought to us straight away and we probably waited no more than 10 minutes for the freshly cooked cod and chips. I have to say, straight away, this was the best cod and chips either of us have ever had (I've had a few;-) ). The chips were hot, fresh and slightly crispy with soft insides and the Cod in batter was just amazing. The fish was really tasty, soft and flaky with a thin batter that was incredibly light and not greasy. The pea puree was a nice touch and I'm sure there was a hint of horseradish in there to give it a slight kick and the curry sauce was smooth and tangy without being over powering.
Overall the quality of the food was excellent, couldn't fault it. That coupled with the service made for a lovely lunchtime. The price for 2 cod and chips and all sides and a cup of tea each was £26. That would have included top up of chips if needed but there were plenty to start with.
Fantastic value, I'll definitely be back. Best cod and chips I've ever tasted! Thanks Robyn!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Timber49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time Portsmouth and this place did not disappoint. Great place to sit down and have a generous portion of fish and chips.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank weluvourpuppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Weekday takeaway lunch.Varied menu,we had hake,cod and sea bass with chips and salads.
This is a cut above the usual.
Part take out plus some tables and a counter to eat in.Relaxed helpful service about £11 per head for fresh quality meal.Only a small glitch,sea bass in batter not plain but this wasnt a problem.
Car parking nearby.
Must revisit soon to explore the choices.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

I went at a quiet time (Monday evening around 6.30) with only 1 other person dining. I was immediately greeted by a friendly and smiley Robyn. Service was efficient and friendly. I had cod and chips and a mug of tea (£11). The cod was a really good size and the batter was absolutely perfect; crispy and not the slightest bit of sogginess. The chips were excellent too. While I was eating, about half a dozen people came in for take away and we’re all served in the same friendly way by Robyn. Background music was just loud enough and not intrusive. I would definitely recommend and will be returning.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fisherman's Kitchen also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Fisherman's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing