We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a budget hotel if a little pricey!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“OK for a budget hotel if a little pricey!”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed here for one night prior to catching the car ferry early next morning. Room was clean and so was the bathroom. There was a huge bath in the bathroom which was very nice. There was also a hairdryer provided in the room. The bathroom had no loose toiletries but, instead, provided liquid soap and bath gel in wall-mounted dispensers.

We arrived at 10.35pm in the evening and were informed that there was nowhere to get anything to eat as the associated Beefeater stops serving at 10.00pm. There was a dispensing machine in the hotel lobby that had bars of chocolate and crisps but nothing more than that. We even tried the Marriott Hotel next door but they refused to serve us anything as we were not guests. So, thank you, Marriott Hotel.

The gentleman behind the check-in desk of the Premier Inn suggested we tried the nearby 24-hour Tesco and this is what we did in the end but, surely there should be more options for people arriving late? After all, it wasn't exactly 2.00am but 10.35pm!

Other than that, there is little else to say about the Premier inn except that I thought it was quite pricey for a "budget" hotel. But, we did get a good night's sleep!

Finally, you need to be aware that there are two Premier Inn hotels on opposite sides of the road. We made the mistake of going in to the wrong one only to be told that we needed to go back to the overflow car-park, exit using the exit code, and make our way to the other Premier Inn opposite. A bit of a nuisance. Had I known in advance there were two, I would have paid more attention to which one was the right one! "Port Solent East" is the one on your left as you enter the side road and "Port Solent" is the one on your right. Simple, really!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    167
    82
    21
    17
See reviews for
193
155
20
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wickford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Service was freindly. Room was clean and on a par with most Premier inns with one exception the bed was extremely hard and the pillows had no substance so not a very comfortable night. No chance to complain on checkout ladies on desk too busy chatting to worry about us.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessie0456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Had a great 2. night stay at this Premier Inn. We booked two rooms. The staff were very polite and friendly. Rooms very comfortable, very clean. No shortage of pillows.
Breakfast was great. Free parking. Beefeater restaurant lovely.
Wifi available. Perferct!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KA9544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Nice meal deal, comfortable beds, although slightly in the soft side, one down side, boy racers with open exhaust bean cans. It would be to a visitor's advantage to choose the rooms on the east side of the Inn. Also deliveries to the nearby Super Tescos large lorries. Otherwise staff good, no results for the good stay sleep guarantee

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on trent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Well worth the money,Friendly staff,good housekeeping,recommend to all.
Five rooms taken by members of my family,all very happy.!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

What I expected from a Premier Inn. I took a coach party of 31 people on a history weekend and everyone agreed this was good value. The rooms were good size, bathrooms clean with fluffy towels, plenty of pillows, warm and comfortable beds. Situated on an industrial estate and near a main road I'd expected more noise but no one complained. notices in the corridors asking for quiet were observed.

The only snag was having to trek up hill in pouring rain for breakfast but, unlike another reviewer, we found the breakfast good value. There was plenty of choice, everything was hot and the buffet was kept well stocked. (The sausages were particularly good). It would be nice if the carpet had been vacuumed from the night before and the tables were cleared more speedily.

This hotel is conveniently situated for the main road into Portsmouth but is not central. Eating in town at night means a taxi or car ride or the adjacent Beefeater, KFC or Pizza Hut. There is a Tesco extra also. We found on arrival at 8pm on Friday night we could not get a table at the Beefeater Grill; we should have booked in advance. We went to Pizza Hut where the service was slow but so friendly we couldn't bear to complain! We booked for Saturday at the Beefeater and suffered the same there but it was quieter and the menu more varied.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archaeologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here one night on business. First time at this chain. Once you've worked out how to actually get to the entrance, this Premier Inn was bright, clean and had welcoming staff on reception. Room was typical of a chain hotel, adequate in size with a very comfortable bed. Although I skipped breakfast, it is served next door at the Beefeater Grill. Full English is £8.25 which I thought a touch pricey. Compares favourably against Travelodge ( its main competitor ). One small niggle - no shaver points in room. The health and safety loonies have been at work ! Take an adaptor with you or ask at reception.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy7945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
0.1 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
4.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
Address: 1 Southampton Road | North Harbour, Portsmouth PO6 4SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms and bathrooms have undergone a full refurbishment completed beginning November 2016. All rooms are air conditioned, have free wi-fi and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer double, twin, disabled and family rooms All rooms are non smoking Welcome to the Naval heartland of Great Britain. Premier Inn Hotel Portsmouth North Harbour immerses you in a maritime history, with the Historic Dockyard just a short journey and the International Ferry Port just 2 miles away. Port Solent marina is a 5 minute drive away with cinema, bars and restaurants overlooking the yacht marina Nearest supermarket is Tesco which is a 5 minute walk away which also has a petrol station attached ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Port Solent East) Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing