We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent premier inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent premier inn”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

This was out second stay here. Staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and nothing bad to say about the hotel at all, despite being on the ground floor and right by the car park we were not disturbed at all. We all had a very good nights sleep. Had breakfast at the adjoining pub which was the usual good value from the premier inn

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    176
    85
    22
    17
See reviews for
201
166
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morden, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Had a great stay as always, when it comes to premier inns.
The staff were very polite, kind, understanding and helpful.
And the room as always was clean, comfy and well equipped. Even supplying a choice of pillow. Wouldn't expect anything more, from a hotel .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Almost not worth putting in a review since all the other recent ones have said the same thing. Main problem was the temperature in the room - showed as 28 degrees on the thermometer. Thought it was just us but clearly not. Could probably have coped if we could have used the fans, but since there are only 2 power points in the room and they're both right next to each other there's not much you can do to position the fans how you want. Overall the place is quite tired but if you're only staying for 1 night then it's perfectly adequate. And to be fair they did agree to refund our money so full credit to Premier Inn for this. Avoid the Beefeater place next door as it's disgusting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hs_prd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I agree with the majority of the reports on here! Far too hot even though its cooler outside. Still an unhappy 28-29 in the room. Not sure if this counts towards premier inns comfortable night program? The other hotel in port Solent is head and shoulders more comfortable. Food was good in the harbour lights but again make sure you book if you want evening meals there.
I wouldn't book this hotel again I'd try and go for the premier inn next door which is newer and better quality. Should be cheaper to stay here out of the two available.

Room Tip: Choose the port Solent hotel not port Solent east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed this weekend and I must admit it won't be on my list as an option again. At least we only paid £39 for the family room as we had booked earlier in the year.
Booking in was easy and the staff helpful. I must admit as it was so warm on the Sunday morning we just checked out, I should have said that it hadn't been the best stay with them.
Unfortunately the rooms did not have any air conditioning, the window had been left open and a fan had been switched on. It really didn't do much. The one thing it did do was squeak althrough the night. It wasn't the best nights sleep we have had in a Premier Inn. The one thing is I know that they are not all like this.
If you do book here and want to eat at the Beefeater next door, book a table. We arrived just gone five and they did not have any tables until 8pm. There is a Pizza Hut or KFC within walking distance.

Room Tip: Please note that the corridors are narrow and if you have a wheelchair/pram check the access, you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed here for one night with husband and two teenage children clean but tired is all I can say about the room . also the heat in the room which I know is not the hotels fault but it was absolutely rediculously warm and uncomfortable good hotel for short drive into portsmouth

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This premier inn is looking very tired in the public areas especially behind the reception desk. Also when we stayed there the room stayed at a temperature of 28-29 degrees despite a fan in the room, it was certainly cooler outside the room. In addition the hot water only dribbled from the tap. I wish I had known that the other hotel the Port Solent had air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leotopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,218 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
3.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#22 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
4.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
Address: 1 Southampton Road | North Harbour, Portsmouth PO6 4SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms and bathrooms have undergone a full refurbishment completed beginning November 2016. All rooms are air conditioned, have free wi-fi and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer double, twin, disabled and family rooms All rooms are non smoking Welcome to the Naval heartland of Great Britain. Premier Inn Hotel Portsmouth North Harbour immerses you in a maritime history, with the Historic Dockyard just a short journey and the International Ferry Port just 2 miles away. Port Solent marina is a 5 minute drive away with cinema, bars and restaurants overlooking the yacht marina Nearest supermarket is Tesco which is a 5 minute walk away which also has a petrol station attached ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Port Solent East) Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing