We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room too hot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“room too hot”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

the room was far to hot reaching up to 27 degrees we got a fan from reception which was noisy. the tv sound was fixed so therefore we couldnt hear the tv over the fan, we had to buy another fan and couldn't sleep! Good night guarentee not adhered to as we left early and i was told we would be refunded for time not spent there and this has not been refunded. It was expensive and the nearby pub/resturant wasn't up to much either, with limited average food and slow service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HodgsonRainworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking & review details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    176
    85
    22
    17
See reviews for
201
167
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed as a couple for a two night weekend break in Portsmouth.
The hotel itself is quite tired looking in places; room was very clean and perfectly functional but the bathroom smelt quite damp. The room was also very hot (no a/c) but the staff did their best to sort this; we were given a fan which was turned on ready when we arrived and provided with sheets rather than than sleeping under the duvet. Bed was very comfy and we slept well. Other reviews commented on the noise but we had the window open all night and didn't have any issue.
Breakfast at The Beafeater next door was excellent; good range of continental and cooked breakfast.
Staff were brilliant; friendly, helpful and welcomed us with a big smile. 10/10 for the staff.
All in all a fantastic value stay; would stay here again but would think twice in the summer solely due to the heat in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we came to portsmouth for a wedding upon arrival had a chat with the lady at the desk who was very helpfull. good nights sleep, had a very good breakfast lots of choice. that evening had a lovely meal in the restaurant we had a nice young lady who served us. would go back the rooms clean and spacious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teenys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Clean, friendly, outskirts of city, quiet, easy to find. great parking and close to reasonable food. This is ideally suited for business solo travellers and families. I stayed for two nights, one on business and one extra for leisure to take a look around. The Inn was ideally located.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this Premier Inn for a family weekend away in Portsmouth. The hotel is well placed on the outskirts of the city and we walked to the nearby Pizza Hut and Beefeater restaurants. Tesco express was also within walking district. The hotel itself is as you'd expect from the Premier chain - family room had all that you need, although there was no apparent way to control the excessive heat at night (it was a very hot weekend) so we suffered a bit with that. Staff very nice, prices very reasonable. No real surprises, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taxanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west mids, UK
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a family room. Great room and facilities. Clean and very comfortable.
It was a hot weekend and I didn't have a problem but I imagine the rooms can get very hot.
No issues with traffic noise either.
Port Solent is round the corner and great for a drink or a meal.
I have visited here and the premier inn opposite and would happily stay in either one.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kezfiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Nice clean and comfortable rooms. Fantastic value for money and would recommend for a cheap over night stay anywhere. We had a family room which comfortably slept 4 of us. Only downside was the quality of the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBooKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,218 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
3.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#24 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
Address: 1 Southampton Road | North Harbour, Portsmouth PO6 4SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms and bathrooms have undergone a full refurbishment completed beginning November 2016. All rooms are air conditioned, have free wi-fi and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer double, twin, disabled and family rooms All rooms are non smoking Welcome to the Naval heartland of Great Britain. Premier Inn Hotel Portsmouth North Harbour immerses you in a maritime history, with the Historic Dockyard just a short journey and the International Ferry Port just 2 miles away. Port Solent marina is a 5 minute drive away with cinema, bars and restaurants overlooking the yacht marina Nearest supermarket is Tesco which is a 5 minute walk away which also has a petrol station attached ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Port Solent East) Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing