We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money and very helpful Reception Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money and very helpful Reception Staff”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Myself and my family have just returned from a two night stay at the hotel. In terms of value for money I'd give it five stars, the room four stars (as already pointed out no air con), if I could give the staff more than five stars I would. We would particularly like to thank the lady on reception when we booked in Sunday afternoon for her help and the lady who took over from her Sunday evening for her politeness. The breakfast staff also work very hard but are polite with it. A very good hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JumboJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    167
    82
    21
    17
See reviews for
193
155
20
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed one night en-route to France.
Rooms have no air conditioning which means the temperature cannot be lowered.
Hot weather and 4 people in the room made the night very uncomfortable.
Would not stay here again and would not recommend.
The good night guarantee is a laugh as the get out was a letter explaining that a fan had been issued to help in the hot weather. All this did was rotate the already hot air.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online customer Service at Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking & review details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Arrived at Port Solent East after travelling from France on a Brittany Ferries crossing. It took 45 minutes to get off the boat and through Passport Control!! We arrived just after 10.00 and were pleased to find that although it was a very warm day and evening a fan had been left running in the room to help to cool it. The receptionist was able to find an iPhone charger for us from a drawer full of cables/chargers etc that had been left behind by other travellers.
Also pleased with the furnishing of a separate double cotton sheet for use if one was too hot under the duvet, which we were.
All in all another good hotel, spotlessly clean despite it not being very new and very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Arrived at the hotel off the Le Harve ferry at night, the staff were super helpful, room was spacious for four of us, our kids are teenagers and we had ample room, price was very competitive too.
We opted for the breakfast at the beefeater as our kids could eat free, we all had full breakfasts, and a choice from a cold buffet, juices coffee etc and it came to £18 for all of us, and it was good too, again staff very friendly and helpful. Portsmouth has lots to do and I would def recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wescotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stay there on 18-7-14. I had the worst night sleep ever. During the night probably had about 2 hours kip. Spent most of the night watching tv or going outside to keep myself cool. The funny thing about your receptionist that he was a sleep on several occasion when I went out. Was not amused he was asleep, Surely to say I won't be going back to the same hotel unless you put in air con.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking & review details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Although this hotel can be congratulated on its staffing, its effective servicing and attention given to guests, it has one huge disadvantage; there is no air conditioning. Our overnight stay was sleepless because the room was unsufferably hot, despite there being a portable fan in the room which was on when we arrived, and even though we kept it on all night as well as keeping the window open, the room temperature did not drop. To be fair to Premier Inn, they refunded us our money as they say they will do in their publicity. With the installation of properly configured A/C this would be an outstanding overnight stop

Room Tip: without A/C, do not get a room in the middle of the building, or upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night prior to going to the Isle of Wight the next day. On arrival we were met by a very smiley receptionist who gave us the room key and sorted out the car park pass. We made our way to our room and with it being a very hot day the windows were open and a fan was blowing cool air around. The room was spotless. Very comfortable. We had a very good nights sleep and checked out with the same smiley receptionist next day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey0353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
0.1 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
4.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
Address: 1 Southampton Road | North Harbour, Portsmouth PO6 4SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms and bathrooms have undergone a full refurbishment completed beginning November 2016. All rooms are air conditioned, have free wi-fi and tea and coffee making facilities. We offer double, twin, disabled and family rooms All rooms are non smoking Welcome to the Naval heartland of Great Britain. Premier Inn Hotel Portsmouth North Harbour immerses you in a maritime history, with the Historic Dockyard just a short journey and the International Ferry Port just 2 miles away. Port Solent marina is a 5 minute drive away with cinema, bars and restaurants overlooking the yacht marina Nearest supermarket is Tesco which is a 5 minute walk away which also has a petrol station attached ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Port Solent East) Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing