We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed here Thursday 18th April arriving around 9.30pm to a wonderful warm welcome from the receptionist who explained where to eat etc..Premier Inn do basic in a very professional style. The rooms are basic but incredibly clean, comfortable bed with tea and coffee facilities and hair dryer .. So not that basic huh? This is the 3rd premier inn we've stayed in .. we use them for over night events far from home and they never disappoint. In the morning we went to breakfast early 6.30am as we had to be at the event early and was greeted by the most lovely and enthusiastic member of staff who displayed no sign in her demeanour that she must have been up at least an hour or so before us .. So around a 5am start and she was wonderfully helpful and attentive with just the right amount of both ... The breakfast ...cooked fresh for you on order along with unlimited continental breakfast and coffee was delicious. I would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful little find.

Room Tip: The breakfast is served in a separate building just minutes from where you sleep ... Pack an umbrell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

The refreshing thing about Premier Inns is that the staff are happy in their work and always willing to help.
This hotel chain puts the right people on the reception desks, ie, intelligent, engaging people who can use their initiative and make problems disappear.
Special mention to Michelle at Horndean in this respect.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mister_Whitebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Nice quiet area, really friendly staff, who were very helpful with our sick one year old. Clean rooms with everything that you need. Great pub restaurant next to it for your meals. Quick and easy to get to Portsmouth from hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baelathlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

very nice stay at this hotel recommend to any one staff very helpful. they say a good nice rest and you do get one the breakfeast is very nice too when you stay plenty to eat and the location is gd if you want to travel to Portsmouth etc or visit local area

Room Tip: face away from the room choose 26 room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvertattoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

usual Premier Inn fayre and no problem really except got to warn people not to stay in room 9 which is above the laundry room and unless you want to stay awake most of the night listening to a spin drier going round at about 2000 revs which actually vibrated the bed! (like I had to) then ask for a change of room immediately!
Otherwise great, was offered a refund as a great nights sleep was not guaranteed in this case as endorsed by the great Lenny Henry himself.

Room Tip: go for ground or first floor facing away from road if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CroydonMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We have stayed here previously, this was Valentine@s day and we had room dinner and breakfast for £85 and a bottle of champagne to wash it down for £20. Fantastic value.
Rooms at the front are a bit noisy early morning from traffic outside but otherwise the place is excellent.
Dinner was good, a pity the staff training is not a bit better-had to show the young waiter how to uncork the champagne.
All the staff in the hotel and restaurant both evening and morning were very helpful. Full marks.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PnJStanmoreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Was in area for family funeral so initially booked this room for 2 nights on flexible basis. On arrival explained to reception may need to cancel 2nd night and she was very helpful and explained process in full. Told us we had until 1.00 p.m next day to do this so no pressure. She also said that if we needed anything or problem with room to let them know -- she happily supplied us with extra coffee for room. Room was clean and at back of hotel so fairly quiet. Was impressed with the size of the bath towels - seemed bigger than usual hotel ones. Had good breakfast at which was cooked to order so all fresh. On return from breakfast cancelled room for 2nd night which was no problem and they allowed us to extend checkout time until 12.30 which was helpful. Staff friendly and helpful, room warm with comfy beds. Good choice for our needs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthie099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
6.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,261 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
7.1 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#33 of 39 in Portsmouth
434 reviews
9.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel

Address: 2 Havant Road | Horndean, Portsmouth PO2 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £48 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set off to explore Hampshire's finest national parks and the city of Portsmouth, just 15 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing