We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Weston super Mare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel over the period 26 Feb to 1 March 2014 whilst away on business. The check-in was very easy and very welcoming, the whole process was very quick with no problems. I had been warned that a minor refurbishment was underway and although there was a slight whiff of new paint about the place the contractors had managed to keep any sign of their presence to an absolute minimum. Upstairs the room was very clean and presented to a high standard. During my stay I came back on the 3rd evening to find a brand new 47 inch TV had been installed on the wall opposite the bed. This had been accomplished with no mess and the TV was ready for use. I use Premier Inns as a preference when I travel on business and I have yet to come across a bad one. The staff were all very helpful and that always makes for a good stay. Coming back again next week.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris251C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    69
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
87
73
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

My colleagues and myself stayed at this Hotel from 24-26 February 2014. Check In was good and took very little time. I was provided with a Double Room and it was a typical Premier Inn room with the usual facilities.
I thought the road noise was going to be a problem but it didn't affect my stay.
The bathroom looked nice and clean on first look and it was only when I took a shower that I realised the towel that I was provided with had brown stains on it.
I didn't make a fuss as some may and gave it to Claire at reception who changed the towel for a clean one.
The breakfast area/restaurant was a little bit of a bizarre experience when we went to dinner on the first evening. As we walked in there were about 6-7 members of staff walking around. We asked for a table and the young lady said that they were very busy and that we would have to wait at least 30 minutes for a table. We sat at a table near the bar while we waited and during this time I thought I would look around the restaurant. To my amazement there were no more than about 10 people in there eating!!!!! All the other tables were completely empty.
We decided to eat near the bar and put it down to other people's perception of busy!!!
An average stay only I'm afraid although I may use this Hotel again on business only.

Room Tip: Away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJamesH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Once again excellent specially the lady that welcome us I believe her name was Claire? she was extremely helpful thank you! This hotel is going through some referbishment we had room 24 that had already been painted and the bathroom looks very nice. But the compliments have to go to the lady in reception nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TITOsudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Could not fault hotel at all. Very helpful and friendly staff. Went the extra mile. Dinner on 15th Feb disappointing. Too long a wait for starters after drinks ordered, which when arrived was cool. Previous evening was brilliant. Put it down to staff and manager at that time. Would not put me off Premier Inns.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jofman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed for the weekend. The staff are first class, the hotel is clean the beds are comfortable, very good size car park. Pub close by for food and drink. You do get a warning of road noise when you book, but I can honestly say I hardly noticed it. All you need for a weekend away visiting friends

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Brilliant staff esp. Claire, nice rooms. We had room 22 on 3rd floor, quiet, quirky with sloping eaves down a corridor over reception. Large room, large bathroom. Only drawback was small tv offset to one side. The beds are new but very high which caused much hilarity as wife is short! Hotel is 6 years old but well maintained. The restaurant is 100yds away (table table) and food and service on a busy saturday night was excellent. We had the meal deal. The room was booked at a cheap rate but our experience was first rate. Makes a change to find somewhere where the staff care about the customer. Hotel is situate in main road in village of Horndean so easy to find. Well situate for visit to Gunwharf Quays shopping centre.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms are quiet. 3rd floor has a baggage lift to save carrying bags up 3 flights
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcquarrievideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here visiting my family for a party. I booked the room online. Upon arrival I was able to park close to the entrance. Which is always a bonus.
On checking in the staff were very friendly, they have is choices and options in case you wanted some dinner etc. They also gave us a phone number for reception in case of any trouble. The receptionist actually seemed to care that we were made to feel welcome. The corridors were clean and uncluttered. The room was clean and familiar. The only problem we had was when it came to having an evening shower, the hot water took an age to kick in. It did eventually, but not until I had nearly lost hope. Overall very good, and familiar.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank seanpearce78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
8.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
Address: 2 Havant Road | Horndean, Portsmouth PO2 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set off to explore Hampshire's finest national parks and the city of Portsmouth, just 15 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing