We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good stay at a Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Having stayed at a number of Premier Inns we were quite relaxed about staying at the Horndean Premier Inn. We weren't disappointed - the rooms were adequate and the bed was particularly comfortable - so much so we even asked at reception for the manufacturer. The reception was friendly both on arrival and departure, with nothing being too much trouble. And despite being next to the A3(M) there was no discernable traffic noise.
Also very easy to get to Portsmouth city centre.
The breakfast was the usual fayre with the usual pleasant and courteous staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed for 1 night on buisness before heading to the isle of wight. perfect for what i needed, all the staff are freindly and happy to help. i will definetly stop again when working in the area again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highnoon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Quick visit to spend time with Daughter & Son in Law who had moved to Horndean the week before. Like all Premier Inn's it was clean, comfortable and provided what it said it would.

Check in was quick, staff efficent, polite and friendly. Only issue for us was the stairs as we were on the 2nd floor. Next time we will ask for a ground floor room.

Thanks to all concerned. Jan J

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Rooms smal but not cramped, mattresses on the hard side. Clean and well kept, In room wireless only 30 minutes free, and not a good signal, Had a vey hard tiem finding this place, even with a GPS it's not obvious. The Beefeater Restaurant down the hill is quite good especially for breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing.Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is the usual Premier Inn standard, with excellent staff and clean well maintained rooms. It is in a slightly scruffy area but is well located for the motorways. If stairs are a problem for you then be aware that there's no lift here, but there are ground floor rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tennisfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have stayed here many times over the years and this stay was as good as ever. The refurbishment of the hotel has taken place since we were last there and it was great to see the new stylish TV's and the different decor. A big thank you to Julia and Lou in the hotel and Emily in the restaurant for their consistent excellent service and friendly approach to things. Also great to see some new staff, who are carrying on the tradition of excellent service.
Breakfast was as good as ever but if you want to go to the restaurant in the evening I would always book early as its always popular and gets busy very quickly.
Great location for discovering Portsmouth, Gunwharf Quays, Hayling Island and Southsea. Even worth a stay over the night before or after a trip to the Isle of Wight. You won't regret staying here.

Room Tip: two sides basically roadside and car park. We have never had a problem in either side. This is a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrek1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Ten of us stayed at the hotel this last weekend to go to HMS Victory and the Mary Rose Museum - we stayed two nights and our children and grandchildren stayed on Saturday.

The beds are the most comfortable that we have every slept in in a hotel!

The rooms were clean and tidy and the rooms were very good value for the price paid and far greater and better value than rival chains.

The restaurant is full most of the time so please don't expect fast service - its good but not speedy and providing it's a holiday break it shouldn't matter that it takes an extra five minutes before the meals arrive.

Hats off to our waiter and the kitchen on Sunday morning who managed to accurately record ten different breakfasts and get them all correct when the plates arrived at the table.

A strong recommendation for the hotel given the price that we paid. Its not de luxe but it's clean, comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
6.2 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,263 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
7.1 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#33 of 39 in Portsmouth
434 reviews
9.9 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel

Address: 2 Havant Road | Horndean, Portsmouth PO2 7HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £48 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set off to explore Hampshire's finest national parks and the city of Portsmouth, just 15 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing