We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at good value, beware of parking!”

Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #350 of 645 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: US$31 - US$47
Cuisines: British, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Marriott Hotel at Portsmouth has recently been further enlivened by the refurbishment of its restaurant and lounge with a modern, contemporary and stylish twist, Solent Chic. The new Sealevel restaurant and lounge has been transformed into a series of comfortable spaces where the travellers of today can mingle and eat, drink, work, meet and enjoy some private relaxation. The AA have recognised the quality of its cuisine with the award of its first rosette.As with any hotel decent food and drink is high on everybody's list, both for guests and those who provide and proximity to the sea tends to sharpen the appetite and cultivate a menu that is strong on seafood and fish, followed by a nice grill section and daily specials. For example the Sealevel clam chowder with smoked pancetta or the cured smoked salmon strike the right note and the Sealevel fish pie with smoked haddock and salmon cooked in a cream sauce topped with mashed potato, celery, carrots, leeks, peas and cheddar cheese should most certainly not be missed. Executive Head Chef Jaap Schep works from a sophisticated à la carte menu with new dishes galore supported by some of the classics such as slow poached salmon fillet with baby leeks, Hollandaise sauce and a good sturdy 10z sirloin steak with sea salt and served with watercress, grilled tomato, Marriott steak butter and fries. All deserts are home-made to order, like the apple crumble and cinnamon custard and bakewell tart with warm, clotted cream takes some beating and so does the inspired local cheese board which corners some of the best cheeses to be had in the UK.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food at good value, beware of parking!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Had a lovely meal with my colleagues and friend 2 weeks ago and had a lovely time!

I was told by staff that parking is for free for guests and customers. Unfortunately, had received a parking fine for £100 from ParkingEye for not paying for parking. I hope that the management could rectify this please.

I can see that a similar problem has happened in one of the reviews, I can only hope that there may be a better solution to this problem.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oscar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant and we have already refunded the parking charges, after you send contacted me by E-mail.
All restaurant and lounge guests have free parking if the spend is over £10.00 and you only need to register the car at reception or ask the service team for the refund when you have paid by mistake with the restaurant receipt. The signs in the parking explain this procedure.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    11
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice :)”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great restaurant, with great staff. Service can be a bit slow, but this is due to everything being freshly prepared (I hope)
I've stayed in the hotel for 4 months so the menu can get a bit boring, but the specials are always tempting!
There is also a cheaper bar menu that is available to use in the restaurant. Usual burgers and sandwiches, along with nachos, quesadillas etc.
All in, a very good restaurant that I'm more than happy to eat in regularly

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMcInnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Mr. Mc. Innes,

Thnak you for leaving such great feedback and just for you information we change our menu in our Sealevel Restaurant, Lounge and also Room Service evry 4 months and we offer daily specials for our regulars to have even more variety. We only have one a la carte kitchen and when all outlets and Room Service get busy, it will cause some delays since all dishes are prepared fresh from scratch.
We hope to see you again soon,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch set menu offer”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

As a family of 8, we booked here for a special occasion. The set menu is extremely good value. The portion sizes are generous, however the quality of the food could be better. It is just ok - nothing special. The vegetables are very tasty, but the chicken was very dry and tough.
My biggest disappointment was the sticky toffee pudding was full of nuts which it did not explain this in the description and therefore had none of it, it got shared amongst the rest of the group who had not ordered a dessert. (From my experience, sticky toffee pudding has never been made with nuts, so it seemed very odd there's did!).
Other than this, the rest of the experience was pleasant and we would return again.

Helpful?
Thank SquidgyPidgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Sealevel for your Sunday Lunch with your family and I have shared your feedback with our Head Chef.
Just for information, the sticky toffee pudding recipe we use has 4% chopped walnuts and 30% chopped dates in it, this recipe we use is very popular with our guests and always very well received in the past. Will make sure in the future we put walnuts on the description on the menu.
Regarding the dry chicken, we will make sure our chefs don't cook the main course too far in advance for larger tables. They might have been kept too long on the pass under lights.

We appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again soon,

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Deserves all five stars...”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We were at a lunchtime event held in their Heritage Room, just across from the restaurant. It was the celebration of a golden wedding with about 70 guests. Everything was spot on, from start to finish.

The food was excellent. Those with dietary restrictions felt amply catered for. Portion sizes were an issue at the Marriott restaurant here on a previous occasion, but not this time. Service was outstanding while the waiters were unobtrusive as they are meant to be.

All in all a great afternoon and a good function that was enjoyed by one and all including five children who had been provided with a play area in the corner. All very thoughtfully done!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Imliooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed the afternoon and we hope to see you again soon.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beware Parking charges apply making the price of dinner extortionate.”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

As we often have done we dined at the Marriott on our way to the cross channel ferry . On our return home we were greeted with a parking fine for £100 for the Marriott car park. We have appealed but have no idea what the terms and conditions are for the parking as the notice simply said we had parked and were being charged, There was no sign visible in the car park and none in the hotel , nor did staff make us aware of the charges .

I can only assume that Marriott do not want any passing trade , or at least only that which arrives on foot or by taxi

Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PompeyGM, General Manager at Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having dinner with us and we have to say that the parking charges are free for Restaurant and Lounge guests.
I have send you a seperate Email with my details for the Parking Eye invoice/number. I will cancel the charges or they will refund the charges if they are already paid.
We had to install a parking system, due to our neighbours using the car park, various Corporate and Colleges and we had no spaces for weddings or large meetings.

Please contact me ASAP, so we can cancel the transaction.

best regards,

BJ Schreuder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Sealevel Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing