We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, it's the experience you being waiting for.”
Review of Restaurant 27

Restaurant 27
Ranked #1 of 646 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$71
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A fully re-furbished restaurant that has played host to a Thai restaurant and more notably Murray's which was a Portsmouth institution for many years.The former chapel for Portsmouth Grammar School has been delicately restored to a modern, sharp and elegant venue for fine dining.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow, it's the experience you being waiting for.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This place is special, great service, great food, great wines. If you looking for a standard three course meal, look else where. This is about the experience, Indulgence your selves, don't wait for that one off special occasion. You're offered a service and meal with surprises between the course, The team here is truly that, a team that look after you so you get the best out of your visit.
Thanks to you all. Brilliant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    785
    81
    16
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southsea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing !”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We went for a quite intimate meal to celebrate an anniversary and can sum our visit in one word - Fantastic !

We had the tasting menu and WOW WOW WOW all of the dishes were above and beyond what we expected and I have to say it is not a surprise to see that this place is the no1 restaurant in Portsmouth an accolade it truly deserves and the Chef would give any of the named UK chefs a run for their money in the taste stakes !

Can not wait to return !!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mac_Southsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Well deserved first place”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Restaurant 27 was rated number one in Portsmouth on Trip Advisor. Went along with a degree of healthy scepticism, but was very impressed with the food & service; especially the little unannounced extra bits between courses. This is a very high class restaurant for that special day. One of the best meals ever.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lhscontrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I always get a bit worried when foams are mentioned however in this case my fears where totally unfounded.

One of the best meals I've ever eaten. Especially good was the take on ham egg and chips and the creme brûlée.


Also has a good wine list and the barman can make a great mojito.

Helpful?
Thank Deasmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Ordered the tasting menu which was outstanding! Staff were very friendly and attentive, couldn't ask for more. Will definitely be visiting again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant 27 also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Restaurant 27? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing