We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent b and b”

Waverley Park Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waverley Park Lodge
Ranked #25 of 34 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent b and b”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

me and my partner stayed at this b and b for 1 night. Great value for money, comfy room and very clean and tidy. My partner had the full english breakfast and was very pleased at what he got. The owners was very nice and made us feel very welcome . Will be staying there again soon highly recomended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    21
    16
    8
    10
See reviews for
14
26
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband, myself and three children stayed for a night in August on a short trip to Portsmouth and all loved our stay. Lovely peaceful quiet nights sleep and wonderful tasty breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumofthree3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2011

After booking this Hotel we read the reviews on this site and were a bit worried! However we were pleasantly surprised. Upon arrival we were asked (not demanded) what we would like for breakfast including tea or coffee. Not an unreasonable request I think. We were then shown to our room, which was a decent double size room. The en suite was a little on the small size but was very clean and well kept! We were also asked like another review I have read on here not to bring chinese or indian curries back to the room and my fiance and I are both white so I don't think that it was meant in a racist fashion. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would def come again! Sarah & Tony from Watford.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goole
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a fairly negative experience. The location was good and the price was ok but everything else was pretty dismal. The greeting we had was very unwelcoming as there was a long delay in answering, Then we were ordered in the kitchen and made to give our breakfast orders whilst still holding our bags! This was the last thing we wanted after a long train journey-normally breakfast orders are taken in the morning at the table-very strange. The woman seemed pleased we were staying for 4 nights as it means she has less work-charming! Our room was horrible and depressing. The storage space was minimal with one wardrobe and 4 hangers. The decor and light fixtures etc were drab. The bathroom light was hanging off with wires showing. The bathroom was small too. The kettle was mankie, full of lime scale and stains. The bed wasn't too bad but the pillows were uncomfortable and the bed was wobbly with the slats underneath. The furniture was mismatched and depressing too. Breakfast time was interesting too. Our breakfast was small and the sausage was disgusting. Also we only had one slice of toast. Cereal was available but fruit would have been good. We were told our breakfast was 8.30. One day we came a couple of minutes late and was told hurry up kitchens closed, and the next day at 8.30 we were told to go away twice as it was full. Overall, the stay was disappointing but the location was good, the place was clean and the landlady was friendly towards the end of out stay. p.s watch out for the freaky old man who walks around with his carrier bag glaring at you!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank niniGoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We booked Waverley Park Lodge for a girly weekend get-away - 8 girls in total!! When booking the owner we spoke to asked whether it was a hen party, but we said no. He mentioned that they can accommodate for it, if it was a hen party.

On arrival, we were greeted by the house-keeper who ushered us to our rooms. Our rooms were on two separate floors even though we had specifically asked for rooms close to each other. After settling in, one of the girls was coming into the room and the house-keeper said, and I quote "I don't know what you guys eat but please do not bring back any Indian or Chinese curries!"

Firstly, she purely said this because the group of us consisted of Asian girls. Secondly she tried to save herself by saying Chinese curries...where can you get chinese curries from? Then she continued to say " you guys do eat pizzas and stuff." how cheeky!

The rooms (room no:6) had terribly uncomfortable beds, you could feel the springs. Flat pillows, bobbly duvet covers, curved mattresses. On the website it stated that the rooms have Tv's and freeview channels. The TV's are from the 18th Century and only have 4 channels.....no sign of freeview! No bins in the rooms.The bathroom was extremely small for a group of 5 sharing one bathroom. Toilet did not flush properly. The Bathroom in room 3 was so small you couldn't even sit on the loo properly.

Breakfast was of cheap quality and because we didn't eat our tomatoes the house-keeper said " I won't serve you tomatoes tomorrow as none of you ate them." Ok fine fair enough...they were tinned tomatoes anyway. On few occasions she told us to keep the noise down, even though we were not loud. If they could accommodate for hen parties were people are drunk and loud, whats a bit of laughter coming from a sober group of 8 girls (2 under 13, 2 under 18 and 4 under 30)

In all we were very disappointed with the hotel, as the customer service we experienced was absolutely appalling. I would not recommend this hotel even to my enemy!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anihor1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2011

A very pleasent stay the owner Garry was a joyful chap with plenty of banter between us . some of the rooms may need updates in the near future. but all in all we enjoyed our holiday. good luck garry

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finchie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

stay well clear customer service is a joke like it or lump it is the norm the owners dont care about residents they just want to get your money then its sod you my tip do not stay here

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marykenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garryshortman, Owner at Waverley Park Lodge, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
This is a little unfair to put this kind of comment when the real reason that he was upset is because he wasn't given a refund on the last days stay when his job came to an end (he left a day early).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
2.4 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#34 of 38 in Portsmouth
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,496 reviews
1.2 mi away
Duke Of Buckingham
Duke Of Buckingham
#5 of 34 in Portsmouth
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#30 of 34 in Portsmouth
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Park Lodge

Property: Waverley Park Lodge
Address: 99 Waverley Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Park Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing