We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a must....”

The Italian Bar & Grill
Ranked #59 of 642 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Italian Bar and Grill. Excellent New York style eaterie - combining a great bar with unfussy but stylish restaurant. The well-travelled patrons know good food - and you can be sure that everything is cooked fresh on the premises. If you can find a better rack of ribs this side of the state then let us know! Good quality, local, non-chain store restaurants can be hard to find. Relax, you've found one.
Portsouth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It's a must....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Best steak in town, tasty tender and cooked to perfection. Garlic bread is excellent, moist and full of flavour. As I'm always in there early evening I can't comment on atmosphere. The place is very clean with comfy chairs in the bar area if you fancy a coffee which is also recommended. If I had to criticise on anything it would to change the colour of the restaurant, brighten it up or just paint the ceiling lighter.... But if that's my only complaint then that can't be bad. 1st class food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    81
    30
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We continue to use this place for our Sunday lunch. The lamb is superb certainly the best place to eat Sunday lunch in Southsea. Steve and the staff are always very friendly and eager to please.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yonmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another xmas at the i bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Another great xmas works meal at the i bar. Staff couldnt be more helpfull, all the food was very good and the option to pre order saved time and hastle. Thanks to the chef and staff from all at liberated training solutions

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitz099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Roast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Love the Sunday Roast and especially love the Tiramisu.
Great relaxed atmosphere where children are welcome.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanquish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We ate here for a 50th birthday meal on Friday night and it was fantastic. The food was really tasy, massive portions and lots of choice. The homemade desserts were also delicious. We were really well looked after, we didn't have to wait too long between courses and the staff were friendly. Only down side was that the garlic bread for one of the pasta dishes came out almost 10 minutes after the pasta. Other than that, great meal!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Italian Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Italian Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing