We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“splendid stay”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Nikki and Paul are excellent hosts, and lovely people. They have made the George a warm, friendly, clean, nicely-furnished, reasonably priced place to stay. It is also an attractive listed building, very close to the historic dockyard, Gunwharf Quays and Spinnaker Tower. We had a great weekend in Portsmouth, and the George and its charming hosts were the icing on the cake.. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank kaluvesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

I spent a few great days in this hotel.
I was very nice suprised by the super atmosphere and great approach of the hotel owners and other people there.
Accommodation and restaurant was perfect include excellent English breakfasts and beer (Guiness) - both very very good :-)
There is no other option than recommend this hotel&restaurant to others.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Zdenek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel is neatly located near to Historic Dockyard and 15 minutes by walk from the city center. The accommodation is great great. The building is a historical one but well kept. The rooms are nicely equipped together with naval paintings - we are at Portsmouth.
At the same time to speak with the owners of the hotel was very pleasant experience. The evenings in the pub downstairs felt like being among old friends.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jiri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Was in Portsmouth for a two day course, single room. The room was clean, shower power was weak, no good view but quiet and had a good sleep. Parking-roadside with meter 8am-6pm or secure parking opposite-half price with voucher. No frill friendly hotel and pub. Walking distance to Spinnaker and Outlet shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YeeSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed here for sisters wedding on HMS Warrior and it was excellent. Would highly recommend this lovely, warm and welcoming Inn. The mattress was a Memory Foam and I can safely say I had the best 2 night's sleep!! (or was it the brandy?!) No noise from downstairs, or up and although the main road is busy it does quieten down. All in all, a fab place to stay. thank you Paul and nikki and all the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alicepalace72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed at the George over the August Bank Holiday for our daughters wedding, in fact she got married from there, the wedding being on The Warrior in the Historic Dock Yard. We had rooms 1, 4 and 6 and they were all fine, especially room 1 which is very spacious and perfect for the bride!. Nothing was too much trouble for Nikki and ~Paul, and all the staff were very
helpful. It was so relaxed and homely, much better than staying in a big impersonal chain. We personally never heard any noise from the bar or other guests. The bar is tradtional in style and lovely to see in this day and age when there are so many plastic modern ones around. All in all are stay was top class, we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone visiting Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrissyj51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

wot a diamond of hotel went 4 bank holiday weekend very nice couple who own it .many thanks indeed ..................alison ian from oxford

Room Tip: room was tops very clean big and large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sax1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#15 of 39 in Portsmouth
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.6 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#23 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,272 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 39 in Portsmouth
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 84 Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £77 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing