We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at the George Hotel”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at the George Hotel”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We spent three nights at the George in May. My DH had long dreamed of visiting the Portsmouth Dockyard to see the HMS Victory. We chose the George based on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The George is located right across from the Dockyard, less than a five minute walk and less than a ten minute walk from the train station. It is family run and Nikki is a delightful owner/operator. I was ill one day and she sent a tray of toast and 7UP to the room when I couldn't make it down to breakfast. We enjoyed the pub and meeting the friendly locals who come there. Nikki told us they've been able to trace the building's ownership back to 1700. Our room, with private bath, was comfortable and well-appointed. The breakfasts were delicious. The cost was very reasonable. I highly recommend the George Hotel in Portsmouth.

Room Tip: If mobility is a problem, ask about a room on lower floors as there is no elevator. We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HokiePoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    131
    30
    13
    3
See reviews for
63
180
42
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

A number of us booked three rooms at The George Hotel to attend a DInner aboard HMS Victory. We were pleasnatly surprised at the quality of the rooms and the service provided by the hosts. They made us feel extremely welcome from the minute we arrived. The bar meals and drinks were good value and the breakfast more than reasonable quality in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road had a slight noise from the traffic in the morning but otherwise everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 387Rodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Very friendly welcoming hosts. Traditional British pub with excellent value food and good beer . Recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oofty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The George Hotel is in a good position for all the attractions in and around Portsmouth, many within easy walking distance from the hotel. It is a few minutes’ walk from the bus and train station at Portsmouth Hard, and the rooms are over one of the oldest Pubs in Portsmouth. Having stayed at this hotel last year, I was pleased to find all the friendly faces I had met before. Check in was swift and the room was both clean and airy. There was a well stocked tea and coffee tray along with biscuits; it is nice to have more than two tea bags which I have found in a lot of other hotels I have stayed at recently. As I like a tea at night as well as first thing in the morning, the shower was great with loads of hot water and enough towels to dry you. I had to eat out on Monday night as the Hotel does not serve food on Mondays; there are plenty of restaurants in the area along with Gunwharf shopping centre nearby. The following day I had lunch and dinner in the Hotel, both meals were great as good as last year. Good home cooking at not over the top prices, the ribs are one of my favourites on the menu. And the selections of beers are good at the bar, served at just the right temperature overall the Pub and restaurant give off a friendly and calming atmosphere. There is even a wishing well in the bar, where you can toss a coin in to make your wish. If your wish comes true is another matter, my advise don’t wish for too much. Another hotel on my list to return to, as the owners Paul and Nikki make you so welcome along with all their staff.

Room Tip: Back rooms if you want to sleep late
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrighton53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my partners birthday, on may 19th 2012, when we turned up at the hotel , i parked on the road and nikki (the landlady) came out to help us take the bags into the hotel, she directed us to the carpark accross the road, where we were able to park the whole time of our stay for a discounted price.
although we were too early to book in , i was impressed that the owners were so helpful in taking our bags early.
once parked we proceeded to the historical dockyard , which was litrally a two minute walk away from the goerge hotel.
we returned to the hotel later that afternoon to book in , and once again given a warm welcome from paul , when we arrived in our allocated room , our bags had been put there and we were pleased with the overall room, it was clean and adiquate , with tea and coffee facilities and biscuits, and a tv on a wall mounting ,
later that evening we arrived we had a delicious meal in the restaurant downstairs , which had a warm and welcoming feel to it, the meal portions were huge , and very good value for money, the staff were incredibly friendly , and accomadating .
we followed our meal with some drinks in the bar, and found the owners , very chatty and friendly , and we were given a free drink for my partners birthday.
the bed was very comfortable , and in the morning we had a wonderful breakfast consisting of full english or a selection of fruit and cereals.
when we booked out we were going to take our bags back to the car and go for a walk , but the owners said you can leave your bags here if you like and pick them up later, which was lovely of them i thought,

the whole exsperience of the george hotel was very nice, it is a warm and welcoming place , made even more welcoming by the wonderful friendly owners , paul and nikki, i highly recommend this hotel, its good value for money, and goes on the list of the nicest hotels i have stayed in .
only wished we could have stayed longer, if we visit portsmouth again we will stay at this hotel if we can.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kivesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Thumbs up to Paul, Nikki, John, Chef and the staff for their hospitality.

5 minutes walk from the coach and railway station, which are next to the Dockyards.

Took room 5. Felt like i had the whole wing to myself. It does face the road but i had no problems with the noise cos the weather made sure nobody hung around too long. Comfy bed with a bathtub, toiletries, coffee, tea and snacks (great biscuits), LCD TV, cupboard, enough room to swing a cat (figure of speech), free wifi, all for 50 quid (pounds) a night.

They serve breakfast fresh and piping hot, and not buffet-style. Their restaurant serve delicious food with fresh ingredients cos it was the first time I had to pick fish bones when i had the fish & chips. Not to mention their generous portions for the food and drinks. Even the tomato soup tasted wholesome.

It was very reassuring to know that after a day battling with the cold English weather, I would be able to return to a cosy bed and have a nice cup of tea.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pslee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

There are many positives about The George Hotel but unfortunately for us the mattress which was deep but very soft, (with similar springs to a sofa bed), was so uncomfortable we were glad we were only staying for one night. Maybe not all the mattresses are the same!

You will hear traffic noise if you are at the front as there is no double glazing. You may also hear revellers leaving the nearby clubs but as the weather was so awful we were only aware of loud voices once, as I'm sure everyone was heading home as fast as possible.

We forgot to ask about the discounted parking and no one mentioned it at the time, so missed out.

However, as others have said:
The location is great for the Historic Dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. Just a few minutes walk away.
The building is old and quirky and you can tell it has been recently decorated.
Rooms are clean and there is a generous supply of tea and coffee plus biscuits.
The hot breakfast was cooked to order and was excellent. Clearly good quality ingredients.

It feels more like a B&B than a hotel.
With assurance of a new mattress we would return!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.0 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#16 of 38 in Portsmouth
686 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,496 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,108 reviews
3.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: 84 Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing