We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Stay”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Despite appalling weather, it was a welcoming and cosy hotel. it's really convenient for the dockyard museum, and the foot passenger ferries. The food was excellent, well worth going for an evening meal. I will be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boblawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

I have just stayed recently at the George, I was warmly received and Paul & Nikki Wilkinson. The whole establishment was clean and tidy, the room was excellent with good all round facilities. The Bar was excellent it was well stocked with friendly staff and the Real Ale was fabulous. My stay was finished off with a good English Breakfast. Good Value for money I will certainly visit again. This is an ideal situated Hotel for visiting the Dockyard, Victory, Mary Rose & Warrior, only 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My partner and I booked in here for the Jubilee weekend (had to escape London!) and had a very happy, comfortable stay here. Our room was clean, comfortable and oozing charm. The breakfasts were plentiful and well cooked and - unlike many hotels - actually included in the price of the room. Whilst we only ate dinner the first evening neither of us were disappointed in the quality - and quantity - of our respective meals.
A traditional inn which is well run, friendly and has the bonus of being near the Dockyard.
We would certainly stay again if down that way. As Dan M mentioned, there is half price parking included too.
We have no hesitation in recommending The George because staying there was a pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CroyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The George Hotel was a nice change from the B & B's that we had stayed in the previous nights of our trip. It is a well-run inn with a traditional pub and dining room. We were glad to have dinner in the hotel and not have to drive to a restaurant, plus the menu was varied and the food was very good. Our room was like-new, and the bath was spotless. The Full English breakfast in the dining room was included with our room, and was delicious; hot and tasty. The location, across the street from the Historic Dockyards in Portsmouth, is unbeatable, and it includes half-price parking in the dockyards' parking lot. We are glad that we stayed there and happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We spent three nights at the George in May. My DH had long dreamed of visiting the Portsmouth Dockyard to see the HMS Victory. We chose the George based on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The George is located right across from the Dockyard, less than a five minute walk and less than a ten minute walk from the train station. It is family run and Nikki is a delightful owner/operator. I was ill one day and she sent a tray of toast and 7UP to the room when I couldn't make it down to breakfast. We enjoyed the pub and meeting the friendly locals who come there. Nikki told us they've been able to trace the building's ownership back to 1700. Our room, with private bath, was comfortable and well-appointed. The breakfasts were delicious. The cost was very reasonable. I highly recommend the George Hotel in Portsmouth.

Room Tip: If mobility is a problem, ask about a room on lower floors as there is no elevator. We were on the...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HokiePoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

A number of us booked three rooms at The George Hotel to attend a DInner aboard HMS Victory. We were pleasnatly surprised at the quality of the rooms and the service provided by the hosts. They made us feel extremely welcome from the minute we arrived. The bar meals and drinks were good value and the breakfast more than reasonable quality in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road had a slight noise from the traffic in the morning but otherwise everythi...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 387Rodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Very friendly welcoming hosts. Traditional British pub with excellent value food and good beer . Recommended

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oofty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.0 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#16 of 39 in Portsmouth
759 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,156 reviews
1.9 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 84 Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £89 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing