We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful stay in clean comfortable accommodation, great location near the historic dockyards”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A delightful stay in clean comfortable accommodation, great location near the historic dockyards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at the George recently for three days whilst looking through the dockyards and the Mary Rose, Victory and Warrior ships, a most fascinating experience. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were very well set up for the day with an excellent well cooked breakfast and stayed for dinner there for two of the nights as were very pleased with the standard of the food. Definitely a notch up from your average pub fare. Our room (no. 10) was at the front of the building, upstairs, and had comfortable beds, lovely bathtub (great for a soak after a long days walking) and a good shower. It didn't seem particularly noisy to us at all. There is a bit of light coming into the room from outside at night (heavier curtains would fix this), which was easily dealt with by wearing my eyeshade. (That said, I am a bit sensitive to this, probably wouldn't bother most people.) Wi fi can be a bit patchy through the hotel due to its age and they are aware of this and addressing it, however we had no problem with it al all in our room. All up, this hotel delivers very well for its class and we felt that the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    128
    30
    12
    3
See reviews for
62
175
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lusby, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The George is not at all what we expected from the comments and reviews. We were nearing the end of our two week vacation in England and were heading back to the US in a couple of days. We were looking for a nice B&B near the dockyard, which was a short 5 minute walk from The George. The food service part of the pub was closed when we arrived about 1700 on Sunday. It was also closed all day on Monday, so we did not get a chance to try their food. After staying at 4 other B&B's across England the previous two weeks, we found their full English Breakfast not up to the same standards as the other B&B's we had stayed in, especially the Thornton Lodge in Easingwold, and the Altonlea in Hartleypool. We were given a room on the 3rd floor, a long climb up a narrow, winding staircase with no offer of help with our luggage. Our room was OK, but had one small window overlooking an alley, and with England being in a heat wave, it was very hot and stuffy. The bathroom did not have a shower, only a bathtub with a hand sprayer. You had to sit in the tub and try to wash off the best you could after a long, hot day. Then after we checked out, we received a rude e-mail from Nicolette Wilkinson that said we had to contact her immediately, or "she would have to make rapid decisions on what steps to take further". She said there was a cigarette burn on the "new carpet" that was installed a week ago in the room we rented. This made no sense since neither my wife or I have ever smoked, and there was no smell of smoke in the room, If there had been we wouldn't have stayed. Since we were leaving England in a day, we wanted to clear up the issue. We called and left a message, which was not returned. We sent an e-mail which she responded to. We denied the accusation and we haven't heard from her again. We truly felt that were were being scammed because we were leaving the country. The WIFI did not work the entire two days of our visit. They told us it was an issue with Apple products, but we have an Android phone and a PC. The bartender said his computer worked behind the bar, but did not offer to let us use it. Parking cost an additional 10 pounds. Obviously we have bad feelings about our stay here and would not recommend it to travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MikePAX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the George yesterday night and found everything about the place an absolute delight.
Firstly, this is a PROPER pub, with some of the finest draught beers in the country, including Doom Bar at £3,00 a pint. Jake, the barman is both entertaining and knowledgeable about his ales. The atmosphere in the bar was extremely pleasant and we found ourselves chatting to several regulars as if we were locals too.
Our room was another pleasant surprise. Large and clean with a very comfortable bed and superbly equipped with toiletries beautifully displayed on little folded towels. Likewise the tea/coffee tray, with enough there to last a week. Everything for a comfortable stay was there, including a fan, and in the en suite there is a beautiful Victorian wash stand, although of course there is a modern wash basin too. By the way, we had room one. The building is very old, i think dating from about 1780, although the well in the bar dates from around fifteen hundred.
There is a distinct Naval feel about the place, and there are many beautiful paintings of maritime scenes and famous admirals.
Our breakfast was first class, served in the very comfortable dining room next to the bar.
We were served as soon as we sat down, with tea and coffee. A wonderful full English breakfast followed served piping hot almost immediately after ordering. Plentiful toast and a basket full of different marmalades and jams completed a very enjoyable breakfast.
I had the impression that the proprietor,(sadly I had no chance for a chat) , knows this trade inside out and has everything exactly as it should be.
The hotel is a mere five minute stroll from the naval dockyards where HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the new Mary rose museum can be found. It is only a ten minute walk to the Spinnaker tower and the multitude of shops at Gunwharf Quays.
Parking in the large, modern dockyard undercover car park just across the road is 50% subsidised by the hotel. I paid £6 for 24 hours secure parking.
Next time I am in Portsmouth i will be staying here, vacancies permitting, and I would not hesitate to recommend The George to anyone who wants cleanliness, great food and great ales, at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: We had room one, which was excellent. There are ten rooms in total I think, and I have no reason to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowman639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This pub is only 5 minutes walk from Portsmouth Historic Dockyard and 15 minutes from Gunwharf Quays shopping centre and Portsmouth station. Parking is available across the street. Full English breakfast was excellent as were other meals. Our room was a little small but clean and comfortable. Wifi wouldn't work for us. No elevator. We highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting the dockyard.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thealexpopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife and I ate there this Sunday 21/07/2013 and once again their Sunday roast was first rate, the food was well cooked and well presented. The staff were all friendly and it was nice that the landlady Nikki remembered us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 130daveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugeley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Clean and comfortable small hotel in a very convenient location, but spoilt by a few niggly things that would probably be easy to put right.
We had room 9 at the top of some rather steep stairs and the only options when in the room were to lie down or stand up, as there was no chair to sit upon. And a bed-side table each would have been nice. It was a very hot weekend but the sash window wouldn't stay open because the sash cords were broken.
Breakfast was very good except they were making the tea with warm water from a thermos jug and it tasted horrible.
We made the most of it, of course; but nobody bothered to ask us if there were any problems or if we were enjoying the stay.
I think it is a bit over-priced at £80 per night and there is also a hidden extra in £5 per day to park the car in the nearby multi-storey.
Perhaps we didn't have the best room in the place but I won't be going back to find out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tootsRugeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shardlow, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

A well established B&B that just so happens to be a pub, too. What more could you ask for?

The rooms are well appointed, though the decor is perhaps a little dated for my taste. Bed linen was what you would come to expect in a quality hotel; which was a pleasant surprise. It had all the facilities you would ask of a B&B - well stocked tea/coffee tray, clean and tidy bathroom with toiletries, freeview tv and free wifi which, I have to say, other hotels should learn from. The breakfast was good, with quality sausages and bacon and well cooked scrambled eggs.

The staff were lovely and made me feel very welcome; taking an interest in why I was visiting Portsmouth.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMachins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: 84 Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing