We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
245
141
34
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
141
34
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubhistoric dockyardsunday roastgunwharf quaystrain stationsecure parkingfull english breakfastportsmouth harbour stationfive minute walkcar parkclean roomsfriendly hotelmary rosecomfortable bedhms victoryspinnaker towervisiting portsmouth
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at the George after travelling from Caen on the ferry. It's a great location right opposite the dockyards. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Great staff, very helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfast. Staying in this very traditional English pub was a great treat for us Aussies.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at the George recently for three days whilst looking through the dockyards and the Mary Rose, Victory and Warrior ships, a most fascinating experience. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were very well set up for the day with an excellent well cooked breakfast and stayed for dinner there for two of the nights as were very pleased with the standard of the food. Definitely a notch up from your average pub fare. Our room (no. 10) was at the front of the building, upstairs, and had comfortable beds, lovely bathtub (great for a soak after a long days walking) and a good shower. It didn't seem particularly noisy to us at all. There is a bit of light coming into the room from outside at night (heavier curtains would fix this), which was easily dealt with by wearing my eyeshade. (That said, I am a bit sensitive to this, probably wouldn't bother most people.) Wi fi can be a bit patchy through the hotel due to its age and they are aware of this and addressing it, however we had no problem with it al all in our room. All up, this hotel delivers very well for its class and we felt that the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The George is not at all what we expected from the comments and reviews. We were nearing the end of our two week vacation in England and were heading back to the US in a couple of days. We were looking for a nice B&B near the dockyard, which was a short 5 minute walk from The George. The food service part of the pub was closed when we arrived about 1700 on Sunday. It was also closed all day on Monday, so we did not get a chance to try their food. After staying at 4 other B&B's across England the previous two weeks, we found their full English Breakfast not up to the same standards as the other B&B's we had stayed in, especially the Thornton Lodge in Easingwold, and the Altonlea in Hartleypool. We were given a room on the 3rd floor, a long climb up a narrow, winding staircase with no offer of help with our luggage. Our room was OK, but had one small window overlooking an alley, and with England being in a heat wave, it was very hot and stuffy. The bathroom did not have a shower, only a bathtub with a hand sprayer. You had to sit in the tub and try to wash off the best you could after a long, hot day. Then after we checked out, we received a rude e-mail from Nicolette Wilkinson that said we had to contact her immediately, or "she would have to make rapid decisions on what steps to take further". She said there was a cigarette burn on the "new carpet" that was installed a week ago in the room we rented. This made no sense since neither my wife or I have ever smoked, and there was no smell of smoke in the room, If there had been we wouldn't have stayed. Since we were leaving England in a day, we wanted to clear up the issue. We called and left a message, which was not returned. We sent an e-mail which she responded to. We denied the accusation and we haven't heard from her again. We truly felt that were were being scammed because we were leaving the country. The WIFI did not work the entire two days of our visit. They told us it was an issue with Apple products, but we have an Android phone and a PC. The bartender said his computer worked behind the bar, but did not offer to let us use it. Parking cost an additional 10 pounds. Obviously we have bad feelings about our stay here and would not recommend it to travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MikePAX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the George yesterday night and found everything about the place an absolute delight.
Firstly, this is a PROPER pub, with some of the finest draught beers in the country, including Doom Bar at £3,00 a pint. Jake, the barman is both entertaining and knowledgeable about his ales. The atmosphere in the bar was extremely pleasant and we found ourselves chatting to several regulars as if we were locals too.
Our room was another pleasant surprise. Large and clean with a very comfortable bed and superbly equipped with toiletries beautifully displayed on little folded towels. Likewise the tea/coffee tray, with enough there to last a week. Everything for a comfortable stay was there, including a fan, and in the en suite there is a beautiful Victorian wash stand, although of course there is a modern wash basin too. By the way, we had room one. The building is very old, i think dating from about 1780, although the well in the bar dates from around fifteen hundred.
There is a distinct Naval feel about the place, and there are many beautiful paintings of maritime scenes and famous admirals.
Our breakfast was first class, served in the very comfortable dining room next to the bar.
We were served as soon as we sat down, with tea and coffee. A wonderful full English breakfast followed served piping hot almost immediately after ordering. Plentiful toast and a basket full of different marmalades and jams completed a very enjoyable breakfast.
I had the impression that the proprietor,(sadly I had no chance for a chat) , knows this trade inside out and has everything exactly as it should be.
The hotel is a mere five minute stroll from the naval dockyards where HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the new Mary rose museum can be found. It is only a ten minute walk to the Spinnaker tower and the multitude of shops at Gunwharf Quays.
Parking in the large, modern dockyard undercover car park just across the road is 50% subsidised by the hotel. I paid £6 for 24 hours secure parking.
Next time I am in Portsmouth i will be staying here, vacancies permitting, and I would not hesitate to recommend The George to anyone who wants cleanliness, great food and great ales, at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: We had room one, which was excellent. There are ten rooms in total I think, and I have no reason to think they would not also be as good.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowman639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This pub is only 5 minutes walk from Portsmouth Historic Dockyard and 15 minutes from Gunwharf Quays shopping centre and Portsmouth station. Parking is available across the street. Full English breakfast was excellent as were other meals. Our room was a little small but clean and comfortable. Wifi wouldn't work for us. No elevator. We highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting the dockyard.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thealexpopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews