We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a pub with rooms, location is excellent”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“It's a pub with rooms, location is excellent”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We booked this as the value is good for the area, £80 per night inc breakfast. The parking is in a secure car park over the road and you get a reduced rate from the pub. I'm surprised at the amount of 4 star "very good" reviews, this place is no more than average. The rooms are run down, our twin beds were awful and everything was dusty. The carpets were dirty and old, the place is in need of refurbishment. When asked we said it was "fine". Which it is, it's certainly nothing great! The food is also average. The barman (Leon?) was friendly enough. It's a really short walk to the shopping area and the bars/restaurants there. We ate there the second night of our two night stay as dinner in the pub was comparable to the Hungry Horse.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmynAdamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    136
    30
    13
    3
See reviews for
65
186
45
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Location is a couple of minutes walk across the road from the Maritime Museum and about 5 minutes walk to the main railway/bus interchange station. There are also several small pubs which serve great meals within a couple of minutes walk. Parking is not available, however the hotel will give you a ticket to park in the public secure carpark across the road - the rates are vastly reduced for hotel guests.

The hotel is a small old approximately 200 years old traditional hotel - it has 10 guest rooms. Rooms are quite small, however our room was very clean and had everything we needed. The bed was also comfortable. There is no air conditioning, however windows are able to be opened to let in a lovely breeze. We were on the top floor (2 floors) and the stairs to the top floor are not very wide and are very steep. It is very hard dragging suitcases up these stairs. Perhaps lower floors should be allocated to older people.

Breakfast was terrific - not a vast choice, but they will make up whatever you want - and it was great. Every one of the staff we came across was so friendly and helpful - the atmosphere at the hotel was warm and inviting. It is not a big hotel, however it was very cosy and comfortable. It has lots of character and we enjoyed our stay here, apart from going up and down those stairs on the top floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed 14/11/2013. Good location for the new shopping/ restuarant complex under the spinika. Safe, cheap parking opposite. A small traditional pub with real Ale, lots of character and plenty of local characters enjoying a pint and the atmosphere.
Room 9 was quiet at the back, small and needed a bit of redecoration with a standard 4'6'' double bed which was ok for me on my own. The bathroom needed a bit of attention re a bit of mould in the shower and a shower with poor temperture control and a poor slider to adjust the shower head. Radiator in the room was not working but a electric heater was provided.
Breakfast was very good,
Overall very good value for money, friendly staff and owner, definatly will stay again when i'm in Portsmouth.

Room Tip: First floor at the back to save on going up to room 9 in the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supersnooper44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We didn't stop in the hotel but had two meals in the hotel.
The staff were very welcoming and the food in the evening and on Sunday was well cooked with plenty to eat .The cost of the food was competitive with the other local pubs . The bar and eating area was welcoming warm and very cosy. As we were in Portsmouth for the weekend of the storm (October 25th / 26th) we found ourselves in the hotel on more than a few times and the welcome was always the same from all the staff. Recommended.

Room Tip: Try the Sunday Lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inside36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The George is a hotel which happens to have a pub as its hotel bar and a restaurant attached, as opposed to a pub with rooms. The hotel is about 400 yards from the Historic Docks and about the same again from Gunwharf Quays and so provides a very convenient base for both. The rooms are well-sized, comfortable, clean, well furnished and decorated. They also serve an excellent cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCJ68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights (sat&sun). We was at first annoyed that the car park we had to use(no on site parking) was full and had to queue to get in there for about 30min,after driving for 3 hours to get there this was not ideal.when we got into the hotel we were greeted by very friendly staff who showed us to our room. The room was ok but nothing amazing. We went out straight away and found its location perfect for the historical dock yard and shopping centre.This plus the price it's best points. The breakfast at The George was good and the staff very friendly too.I should mention the room we stayed in you could here the noise from the bar area at night but if your one to stay up and have drink this would not be a problem.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 45micoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

It is always nice to have provided a previous favourable review to return to the George and find that they have not let you down and carry on to serve up a wonderful customer experience. I have no intention to wax lyrically about this lovely establishment, see for yourself and tell me I am wrong.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.0 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#16 of 38 in Portsmouth
737 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
886 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: 84 Queen Street, Portsmouth PO1 3HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing