We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rydeview Hotel(Portsmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
241
142
34
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
142
34
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubhistoric dockyardsunday roastgunwharf quaystrain stationsecure parkingfull english breakfastportsmouth harbour stationfive minute walkcar parkclean roomsfriendly hotelmary rosecomfortable bedhms victoryspinnaker towervisiting portsmouth
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

An outstanding experience. Lovely clean rooms. Outstanding owners, Paul and Nikki. Outstanding staff: all polite, helpful and 'fun'. Help available for all our needs ( we are Seniors). Breakfasts excellent as are meals. Prices are fair and reasonable. Local users of the licenced premises are friendly, interesting and welcoming ( of course as long as you are!). It is a safe place to be. Proximity to Historic areas, buses, is excellent. Secure reduced rate parking is a real bonus. There are stairs and these are unavoidable in a building of this age.
This place was once a naval hostelry in the 17th century so holds an history all of its own.

Some traffic noise is unavoidable but my room (6) was on the road side of the hotel and it was no problem. Fans are provided in summer to help with the heat. Some reviews comment on misuse of language in the bar. Well, sorry, but I spent time in the bar chatting, and any (rare) misuse was followed by embarrassed apology. Not something for guests to worry about. The Licensees run a strict bar and this place is safe and good mannered.

We will return next year if not before and recommend The George without reservation.

Room Tip: If you need a lot of light try room 6 There is some traffic noise but easily ignored. Did not see other rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Weekend visit middle of June.Lovely old pub located close to The Old Docks.
Good food and beer.The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice.
The rooms were comfortable and clean.The place provides really good value for money

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danfordSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Recent trip for two nights this pub is in a top location next to the Historic Dockyard and all other attractions. Very friendly helpful staff ,great breakfast and evening meals and a cheeseboard so large I needed help lol,Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpitch54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Knew that this hotel would get some road noise but wanted to be close to the naval museum and secure parking - you cant get it all in a city break and traffic noise if you are visiting in summer and want the windows open mean you need to take ear plugs.

That said we were in rooms 2 and 4 and the traffic noise was not an issue even with the windows open. Shelia welcomed us although we were early arriving at 12 noon surprisingly our rooms were ready so not issue with off loading our luggage - she gave us some great information about parking and could not have been more helpful.

Arrived back around 6pm had a great long soak - loads of hot water in a spacious clean and comfortable room - lots of stuff on the hospitality tray - I hate it when the ration you to two coffee and two tea bags, very comfortable bed and a fan provided - it was hot in Portsmouth this weekend. most welcome. In fact all our your needs were anticipated.

Down for a pre dinner drink and James was helpful and friendly - Gail served us and again very friendly - dinner was 8/10 treackle tart was a little stale and my well dressed salad could have benefited from being served separate to the main dish of chicken breast and new potatoes - good value though given the location.

Saturday morning breakfast kept us going till dinner that night - would have liked the table cleared of our breakfast plates so that we could have enjoyed toast and marmalade as course number two without having to work around the dirty dishes - went into breakfast at 9am - breakfast was served till 9.30 and we were the last ones but there were enough staff around to clear the table .... and everyone again friendly apart from one - I am sure she knows who she is - and I can only assume that she was in a lot of pain.....

All in all will be booking again when several couples go down to Portsmouth for a reunion - but will be sure to book well in advance - this is really a little gem in this town - there are not many hotels this close to the naval dockyard and within walking distance of the quays.

Room Tip: If you need quiet and want a city location - take some ear plugs.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veryhappytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The George is an old fashioned pub with rooms centrally located in Portsmouth close to the Naval dockyards. My wife and I stayed for one night whilst attending a function on board a Royal Navy ship. Check in was efficient and friendly and we were shown to a comfortable spacious double room on the second floor. Free wifi was available in the room and there was subsidised secure parking at £5 per day directly opposite the hotel. The bar was well stocked and frequented by local regulars. Breakfast was good. Our only criticism was that our room overlooking Queen Street was a little noisy at night with both passing vehicle noise and returning revellers! However, the bed was very comfortable and we got a good nights sleep eventually.

Room Tip: Request a room away from main road.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewO168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews