We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
245
141
34
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
141
34
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubhistoric dockyardsunday roastgunwharf quaystrain stationsecure parkingfull english breakfastportsmouth harbour stationfive minute walkcar parkclean roomsfriendly hotelmary rosecomfortable bedhms victoryspinnaker towervisiting portsmouth
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Me and the family stopped here for a late lunch. Large portions , home cooked food is what to expect frendly service. I asked for medium rare got well done on the s rump. Wasn't the best meal I had this week but was reasonably priced and good value. The beer wasn't the best kept. I have to confess I didn't say anything at the time as the staff was so friendly. Maybe average is a little harsh.. but good would be a lie on this visit.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Excellent place, with good service and good food, easy walk to Gun Wharf Quay and Historic Dockyard. The hotel has a facility of save parking in Dockyard car park which is good and not far to walk and at half price.
One down thing if you have a bad back do not have room 3 as the bed is a good size but very soft mattress.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alby_lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Owners very friendly, we had lunch which was lovely. The room was nice and clean, television although we didn't use it, too busy enjoying the real ales in the lounge bar. Bar staff really welcoming and friendly, good banter.

Our only minus was the Breakfast which we felt let the George down, in fact I didn't eat my cooked breakfast, the eggs were undercooked and I have never seen such a pale looking yokes ever! Everything from milk, butter etc, laid out on a table was warm, it was a hot morning.

We hope the owners take this on board, as we were surprised at the lack of quality on the breakfast, considering we had a lovely lunch the previous day.

It will not stop us returning, but perhaps not have breakfast, that is unless it has improved

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The George Hotel is a charming place to stay in its own way, staff are friendly and very helpful, very close to shops restaurants and 2 min walk to the Historic ship yards. Value for money room was very spacious but the decor was a little tired, but that didn't detract from the Portsmouth experience. Nice little bar to sit and relax while enjoying a drink. Breakfast was nothing flash or fancy basic cooked breakfast or Continental, but enjoyable, waitress was a little blasé but not rude, this might offend some people but hay you get what you pay for. Yes I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peter_fitzgerald67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the George Hotel for two nights for our eldest daughters graduation. The room (no 3) was very spacious and we were glad of the fan in the room with the very hot weather at the moment. The included breakfast on both mornings was very good. The location of the hotel is very handy for the harbour, historic dock yard and if you like shopping, Gunwharf. We have been coming to Portsmouth a lot whilst our daughter has been at the university and usually stayed at the Premier Inn on the sea front. I wish we had found the George earlier. Very good value and an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gazza45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews