We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely sea view pub with good grub.”
Review of The Bridge Tavern

The Bridge Tavern
Ranked #113 of 660 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Right on Old Portsmouth's Camber Dock, The Bridge Tavern is a traditional country pub with a wonderful friendly atmosphere and a great menu of fine food and drinks. The only surviving pub on Old Portsmouth's East Street, is the perfect spot for a family get-together.
1 review
“Lovely sea view pub with good grub.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

They put in a fantastic effort and were helpful and flexible when planning and hosting our wedding reception. A fab venue.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RatbagL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    103
    48
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely place to sit on a summer's day!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband, dog and I frequent this pub whenever we visit Portsmouth, even if it's just for a drink.

It's a particularly lovely venue on a hot summer's day if you sit outside in the heart of the harbour. You can watch how the other half live! The interior is also very pleasant and there's always a relaxed atmosphere.

The staff are always friendly and accommodating. A water bowl has always been available for our dog and nobody has ever raised any concerns about dog's being present in the pub. Whenever we've been there, lots of dogs have always been welcome inside and out.

The food is not gourmet standard, but typical good pub food. It's reasonably priced and always filling. The menu changes quite frequently, allowing different choices on every visit. Drinks are also reasonably priced.

I personally don't think it's a long walk from Gunwharf. I managed a gentle stroll, 7 months pregnant and with sciatica!

Overall, it's a great way to finish off a morning walk along the coast!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nursey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at The Bridge Tavern, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words, and review! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We go to the Bridge because it is dog friendly, but we got very dirty looks from other people there. Perhaps it would be a good idea to put a sign up so other customers know you welcome dogs - thank you letting them in anyway.
We also went because of the fish - and how disappointed were we - very watery and tasteless, being right by the fish market we assumed it would be good, we did tell the waitress and looking at other comments here I notice the same has been mentioned. So PLEASE landlord do something about it or you won't get repeat business from us again.
PS., The magician going round the tables was magic - he was brilliant!!!! Thanks.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Manager at The Bridge Tavern, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Good afternoon

Thank you for your review.
Obviously we are disappointed that we were unable to deliver to the high standards we aim to achive. However we do appricate your honest feedback and your comments have been taken on board.
As of today we have just released a new summer menu and are now serving fresh cod of a better quality than before.
I hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you (and your dogs) back to the bridge tavern in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Took a seat overlooking the harbour and the fish market and thought that fish and chips would be a good choice, however, the fish was a bit insipid and watery.
Asked the very pleasant and helpful staff if the fish was frozen and was assured that it was fresh fish.
I have had fresh fish before and it wasn't like this. So to sum up, the beer was very good and if that's all you want, then pay them a visit because they have a good selection. If it's food you want, then on this showing, it's certainly not worth the walk from Gunwharf Quays.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank nick_southwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't eat there.....”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A fair summary of this place is; historic pub in waterside location serving very poor quality food and good but over-priced beer (c £4 a pint).
Sampled fish and chips - limp, undercooked and unpleasant. The obvious cause is a fat fryer that was not hot enough. How can you get that wrong in a professional kitchen?! Tartare sauce left out long enough to gain a thin crust!
Prawn and chorizo starter with slabs of doughy brown bread and mini packs of Anchor butter was reminiscent of 1970's 2 star Torquay hotel trip.
If you want better fish and chips try A Bar or if you want the same fish and chips but for a third of the price go to Wetherspoons although I'm probably being harsh on Wetherspoons. Don't waste your money here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Oilbeefhooked M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bridge Tavern also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Bridge Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing