We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Shopping Center!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gunwharf Quays

Gunwharf Quays
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46.03*
and up
Brighton and Portsmouth Full-Day Tour from Oxford
Ranked #7 of 118 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hod Hasharon
Level Contributor
508 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Very Nice Shopping Center!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

After spending the day at the Historic Dockyard and visiting the HMS Victory and the Mary Rose (Both reviewed by me separately), we strolled over to the Gunwharf Quays for a little shopping and food.
The quays have both, and in abundance.
There is a good selection of stores and of restaurants.
The shops are high-end and trendy, with prices at all sorts of levels. Some are declared as "Outlets" and some are not. Check prices and you'll most probably find what you need and can afford.
For chocolate lovers, there is a Cadbury's outlet and a Lindt store. Yummy.
A slight drawback is that the place is open and when there is a wind blowing from the sea, it gets mighty chilly in between shops (Good for the shop owners....).
We decided to eat at Wagamama's, which was as god as expected.
Most restaurants are on the second floor, with nice views of the harbour.
Altogether, a good place to spend an evening.
Very Nice!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shaked007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    624
    161
    31
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good shopping experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

My daughter brought me shopping here for my birthday and it was well worth the visit. Plenty of shops including designer. shame it's not all under cover as it was a really cold day. Plenty of restaurants and bars.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We live locally and are always in Gun Wharf. You have everything you need here.

There are excellent shops selling Designer products in both fashion and sundry items. A good book store, perfume shops, Plenty of bars and pubs. Good for eating both in lunchtime and evening.
If you box clever you can still get lunch time prices up until 6.00pm. Car parks are expensive. The only downfall. However if you visit the cinema you do get up to four hours for around 1 pound 70 pence if you validate your car park ticket at the cinema.

There is an excellent Casino where the prices are good for eating and you get free parking if using the Casino from 6.00pm until 6.00am the next day. Well worth a visit and one of our favourite places to go.
At present Christmas decs are up and there is always something going on in the square.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank evelynenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Busy & Cold shopping experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Nice environment with good selection of shops & restaurants
The car park is a nightmare to get in to it took us half an hour at 10 am on Saturday the 30th November. Our friends arrived at 11 am & it took them 1& a half hours.
We eat at bar38. after ordering & paying the food took 35 minutes to arrive. Some of which was overcooked & cold.
As a one off experience it was fine but there are better shopping outlets elsewhere.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lloyd c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Few designer shops and lovely restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I go there regularly to shop eat out even gym. Lovely view from the gym if you go to that gym to work out. Would recommend going during summer times as the place is buzzing.

Helpful?
Thank altafur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gunwharf Quays also viewed

 

Been to Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing