We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place found by accident”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abarbistro

Abarbistro
Ranked #12 of 642 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$65
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely place found by accident”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were staying at the Duke of Buckingham and went for a wander and found this place just round the corner. We were a bit wary because there was no menu outside, just the specials board, but decided to take a chance and were very glad we did. The food was excelent and we chose a bottle of the 'wine of the day' which was very good as well as reasonably priced. The service was just right, there was a gap between courses to let the food go down but not so long as to make you wonder if they had forgotten you. All in all a lovely evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    191
    52
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Aways a good choice for drinks, much prefer it than Spice Island area. my favourite place in Old Portsmouth. Staff are chatty & friendly, food good too

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not poor and not amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Was expecting so much more as been here a few years ago and it was amazing but didn't find that this time. The food was good but again not out of this world. There was a lot of food on the floor under tables from previous meals which had not been cleaned up. We did get a free glass of wine we knocked it over by accident. Was impressed with the fast response to wipe the floor and make sure we was ok.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank danielle n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dean&Lisa ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Had our wedding Lunch/reception and I have to say that all the staff at a bar were fantastic&under the watchful eye of James it was a day we will never forget,food was fantastic as we all had different meals but the one comment made by all was how tasty every part of our meal was!!so thank you to all you helped make our day complete.Dean and Lisa searl x

Helpful?
Thank retchtub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

It has the 'chic' restaurant feel. You can choose to dine indoor or outdoor. The food was lovely and staff was friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PandaEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abarbistro also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Abarbistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing