We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a short stay base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fine for a short stay base”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The rooms were clean and modern. If you are only using the room for sleeping and showering, its perfect - as long as the room is clean, I don't want to pay more than necessary. The staff were polite and friendly. I was aware of the rooms being very small, so knew what to expect and it was fine. If you are on the large side or have any mobility limitations, you would probably find it very difficult to use the bathroom. The location is convenient, not too far from the old town or the Gunwharf Quays.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oasisgirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Assistant General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Oasisgirl80,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience.

It is always pleasure to receive positive feedback such as yours. Our location is indeed a great asset when you visit Portsmouth & I am glad that you enjoyed this attribute as much as we do.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you to Ibis Portsmouth in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Veronika Rackova
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    553
    424
    168
    115
See reviews for
223
583
149
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Hotel had a group of youths staying in it and they had no respect for any other guests, despite being spoken to on several occasions. Constant banging of doors and noise up and down the corridors with them going from room to room till 3am in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 27 September 2016
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review about your stay at Ibis Portsmouth Centre.
We regret that you didn't enjoy your stay, we have recently undergone extensive refurbishment and improvements. We have also implemented extensive, firmer responses to guest misbehavior and hope you chose Ibis for your next visit to Portsmouth.
Kind regards,
Zenaida Villalba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This ibis is awful. Rooms so smal you couldn't swing a cat so to speak in fact if you were an animal you'd be better treated space wise.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafflesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 27 September 2016
Dear Rafflesgirl

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review about your stay at Ibis Portsmouth Centre.
We regret that you didn't enjoy your stay, we have recently undergone extensive refurbishment and improvements and hope you chose Ibis for your next visit to Portsmouth.
Kind regards,
Zenaida Villalba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed at IBIS hotel portsmouth over the easter weekend with the children, although we have stayed at an ibis hotel in paris this one was the most uncomfortable. You would have to be very slim to fit in the bathroom as you wont be able to read a book whilst on the toilet due to the lack space between the toilet and the sink, I spent many a time banging my elbows as I attempted to use the toilet. The rooms were very small and hot at night and we had to keep the window open but ended up enduring the noisy environment outside and inside the hotel rooms once the people who arrived back late settled down to sleep amongst their arguing and shouting. The 'bed' was a mattress placed on top of an MDF board on stilts and housekeeping informed us that the sheets are changed on Monday,Wednesday and Friday which was quite alarming! There was no fridge and when we enquired we were politely reminded that it is a 2 star hotel! Disappointingly we had to pay for the car park and the internet access was priced at a ridiculous rate!

On a positive note, breakfast was fine, the service was ok and both shopping centres were easily accessible by a short walk.

Would suit a budget holiday for a couple or lone traveller who don't mind the inconvenience but not suitable for children.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Front Office Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 31 March 2017
Dear Sandra,
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Could you please email h1461-dm@accor.com with the full details of your stay so we can work on improving our future service?

Kind regards,
Adam Kendall
Reception Shift Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Would never book an ibis room again - far too small for my liking.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neerod23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Front Office Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 31 March 2017
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments. Could you please email h1461-dm@accor.com with the full details of your stay so we can work on improving our future service?

Kind regards,
Adam Kendall
Reception Shift Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The hotel is great
But be sure they dont charge you twice for your stay as they did to me as this will cause a considerable amount of stress?? better booking into the hilton for £110 per night

Tom Bell BAE Systems

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 734thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Front Office Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 31 March 2017
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry that there was a mix up with your bill.
Could you please email h1461-dm@accor.com with the full details of your stay so we can work on improving our future service?

Kind regards,
Adam Kendall
Reception Shift Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,200 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Property: Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing