We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florence House(Portsmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacrest Hotel(Portsmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,671)
Filter reviews
1,671 results
Traveller rating
284
620
467
177
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
620
467
177
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallcentral locationgunwharf quayssecure car parkshort staytrain stationcomfortable bedwould stay againone night staygun wharfhistoric dockyardtea and coffeeisle of wightyogurtuniversityferryhairdryer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,209 - 1,214 of 1,671 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Portsmouth several times over the last few years and I must say that it has greatly improved. The beds are now fantastic and the food is well worth staying in for as I have for the last two weeks whilst on a local course. The new Polish chef is quite excellent and would be an asset to any company. The early breakfast provided by this hotel means that you are able to comply with any early starts on a full stomach. Highly recommend and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Portsmouth and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Clemence CARMINATI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

It's a bit gross, but hey! Ibis hotels aren't known for luxury, but our wallets were happy!

It's got the best location in Portsmouth if you're walking, and as long as you know what to expect, you won't be disappointed..

The staff are all very helpful and friendly....

there's not really much more to say, so yeah, just an average hotel I guess..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjpkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Portsmouth and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Clemence CARMINATI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I would recommend this hotel, the room was comfortable and the staff was also very helpful. The bed was very comfortable, the restaurant is open 24 hours and you can order selected food which is 24/7 on the menu.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleonora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Portsmouth and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Clemence CARMINATI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed for an evening after a function in Portsmouth. Check in was - unlike some of the other reviewers - slick and efficient. It's a bit of a shame to charge for car parking - perhaps if this charge was more obvious on the hotel's website, it would better manage people's expectations. The room was tiny, but everything was clean, in good condition - you can't expect more for a budget rate in the city centre. The shower room was minuscule, but again everything was clean and worked. Breakfast was nice, pleasant buffet with a fair range of hot food, plenty of cold options, fruit juice (and, unlike many hotels, not served in a stupidly small glass) and hot drinks.

I guess it wouldn't be my first choice for a long stay or one where I was anticipating spending much time in the room, but for somewhere to sleep it did the job - and was good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dullardd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Thanks for your review.
I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Ibis Portsmouth and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards,
Clemence CARMINATI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

The hotel looks terrific, sadly it does not live up to its looks and turned out to be very disappointing. We were charged £6 for overnight parking, which was practically non-existent. My vehicle had to be parked in a restricted area. the service at the bar was abysmal and the young male who was at reception when booking in was not very welcoming. The room that we had was a pokey little thing on the top floor and was very draughty, On loooking around we found that the little porthole window in the shower room was very badly fitted, the draught found its way into the very cramped bedroom.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mancboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Ibis Portsmouth. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating the matter. Please feel free to contact me on h1461-dm@accor.com to discuss this further and in person.
Kind regards,
Clemence Carminati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews