We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect too much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't expect too much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

As a place to stay while on the way to or from the ferry this is fine. The rooms are very small so you wouldn't want to unpack a fortnight's clothes, but they're clean and the beds are comfortable. Situated near to pubs & restaurants, so they're easy to access but you do suffer some consequent noise late at night. Secure parking is good provided you turn up early enough and don't feel that £6 is too much to pay for the benefit. If you get a discounted room price it feels like a bargain - if not, it doesn't compare well with hotels of similar price that you would find in France.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spcmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking a minute of your time and write your review.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed most of your stay with us.

We will be looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    538
    409
    163
    111
See reviews for
217
561
142
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay. Yes room & bathroom small but perfectly adequate for 2 nights stay. Didn't eat in the hotel as there are plenty of places to eat in Gun Wharf or Portsmouth. The beds are fantastic with a spare pillow in the wardrobe & I am sure you could ask if you needed another one. Every member of staff on duty during our stay were friendly & helpful. Would definitely stay again & recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline59552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your kind review about your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear such a nice words regarding our work.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we will be looking forward to hearing from you again soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south coast
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Overall its a nice budget hotel, clean, modern, comfortable bed, helpful staff and well positioned, yes the rooms are small but ideal for a weekend.
The main problem was the door closers on the rooms , they are very tight and the doors quickly close with a bang that shakes the room if any doors shut within 10 yds. this coupled with being a budget hotel attracts budget customers and a group of lads came in at 3am calling out and banging doors intermittenly for the next 20 mins. so overall a good stay but alot of corridor noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hastingsranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking a minute of your time, and write this review about your stay in our hotel. I apologize for the noise in the corridor at night.

At least, I am glad to see that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and that you were happy with our staff.

We will be looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth Centre hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Centrally located hotel in Portsmouth, a few minutes from railway station. Very comfortable stay overnight. Greeted by friendly reception staff for whom nothing was too much trouble, booking a taxi for me,posting a letter etc. Good choice of tasty food, and served to late in the evening. Excellent and recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review! It is always a pleasure to read such a nice words about our work.

We will be looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portstmouth Centre hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san javier spain
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Good hotel, excellent location and friendly staff. BUT I mistakenly booked 2 rooms for one night. I cancelled the extra room only to find that the online booking was not cancellable. The Assistant manager refused to refund the cost of the surplus room - so I paid £144 for one night at the Ibis. Not satisfactory so I will not be staying again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 774erebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking a minute of your time, and write this review about your stay in our hotel.

I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with billing, but at least I am glad to read that you enjoyed most of your stay.

We would really love to have you here again soon.

Regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth Centre hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Managed to get last car parking space in hotel arriving at 4pm. We had traveled from Glasgow so were weary.The Hotel bar was poorly stocked so we chose to go out for a drink. Very small room but fine if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stelsbabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review. Even if you had some issues with the size of your room, I am glad to see that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

We will be looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Property: Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing