We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,694)
Filter reviews
1,694 results
Traveller rating
289
625
472
180
128
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
625
472
180
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallcentral locationgunwharf quayssecure car parkshort staytrain stationcomfortable bedwould stay againone night staygun wharfhistoric dockyardtea and coffeeisle of wightyogurtuniversityferryhairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
1,008 - 1,013 of 1,694 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I knew the rooms in the Ibis were going to be small and there was nothing on the booking to say our son would get a bed so we brought his airbed. So it was really nice to be asked at checkin if we wanted the extra bed made up, which we did. Housekeeping were straight to the room and sorted the bed in no time, which was perfectly comfortable for our 3 year old. The room itself was a perfectly decent size, even with the table turned into the bed there was space to move around. Not a large room but plenty of space for our stuff and the room was perfectly clean. The bathroom was also perfectly clean but it was a bit of a squeeze getting to the toilet in the corner (and I'm really not that big). Shower was great, took a little bit of faffing with the tap to get just the right temperature, but otherwise decent. Shower gel was also provided which is always a nice touch.

We were impressed with breakfast, full buffet or cereals, pastries, fruit and full English. There was even some pasta and soup for the Great South runners that wanted to load up.

The staff were always helpful the friendly and the bar/restaurant area was a nice space to relax. We had some food there before we went home and it was perfectly decent.

Overall very happy with our stay and we will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDoogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your nice comments regarding your recent stay in Ibis Portsmouth. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back very shortly.
Best regards
Emilie Dengremont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The lobby area in this hotel has just been refurbished, and is really nice. The hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful. The bathrooms are very small but it is in the heart of the town, so it is easy to get around.


  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Rosiegray46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear guests,
I would like to thank you for your recent stay in Ibis Portsmouth as well as for your kind words about the hotel. We hope to welcome you back in a near future.
Kind regards
Emilie Dengremont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Nice and clean,almost impossible to use the toilet if you are of a heavy build.awful food in my opinion,lasagne was burnt and there was no chips,the chicken pie was beef,the piri piri chicken tasted reheated several times....one girl was running from bar to restaurant,she was trying her best but customers did have to wait.....i would stay again although I may give the bar and restaurant a miss.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allanb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay in Ibis Portsmouth. I am sad to read that our food offer was not to your expectations. We will have our new winter menu in few weeks and I hope you will give us the oportunity to show you how good it will be.
Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Kindest regards
Emilie Dengremont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Booked a twin room for myself and my son (11).
The room was very small and would not suit, shall we say, a larger visitor. The bathroom had a shower only but space was really quite constrained. We were not bothered by that but some might find it a little too cramped if staying more than one night. The room was very clean, the beds very comfortable and well equipped (tea and coffee and a very good quality TV)

Breakfast was, frankly, a real treat. A buffet breakfast with a great choice. My son said the hot chocolate was the best he'd ever had!

Easy to walk anywhere of interest from this hotel - the location is good.

Like most places the real imprint is left by staff - they are very polite, helpful and friendly. The check in staff are upbeat and happy to spend a moment to chat.

I liked this hotel and would stay again - and will next December!

Ibis are what I term a factory hotelier - and this is a good exemplar of how it should be done.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear traveller,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about your last stay in Ibis Portsmouth. We are all glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you will come back and see us !
See you then very shortly !
Kindest regards
Emilie Dengremont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews