We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 29 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed here with friends for the second time in early November and we came back for good reason - it is modern, clean, has comfy beds and is in a convenient location. Because we booked early (oct) we got double rooms each for £35 which is incredible these days.
Yes, the bathrooms are tiny and the rooms compact - but we were there to visit people and enjoy our time so all we needed was a safe, comfortable place to sleep for a night.
There is a secure car park, which is a real bonus in Portsmouth, and the breakfast was plentiful. The lobby, bar and dining area has had a makeover since we were here last and looks super.

I know we'll come back and this will be our choice next time too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice and positive review. It is always a pleasure to receive this kind of feedback, so positive and constructive, but it is even better when the guest says that he will come back.

So, we will be looking forward to seeing you again very soon here in Portsmouth.

Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth Centre hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Overall this hotel was ok to use for one night on business.

The lobby is very modern but the rooms are let down by being small with very little space in the bathroom.
However, the bed was very comfortable and I got an excellent nights sleep.

Free wifi was available in the room and the breakfast selection was very good. Would use again

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Jameshart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review. I am glad to see that, apart from the size of the room, you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate this kind of constructive feedback, and we will be looking forward to hearing from you in the future.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed one night here for business and, while it was ok, I wasn't overly impressed - Especially for the London prices that Portsmouth hotels seem fit to charge.

First off, Parking is a nightmare here as there are too few spaces AND you have to pay for privilege if you can squeeze your car into a bay.

The bed was of average comfort, but the room was quite small and bathroom was pokey.

The worst part was the noise at kicking out time from the student nightclubs across the road. Even with the window shut, it was difficult to deal with.

On the plus side, the staff were helpful and friendly.

There are better hotels for the money nearby, but if you have to be in the centre of Portsmouth, there are also worse!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bri77_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking a minute of your time and write this review about your stay in our hotel.

We appreciate this kind of constructive feedback, which is very useful for us and is really helping us to improve.

I will be looking forward to hearing from you soon again.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth Centre hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ibis hotel in Portsmouth on 6th December 2013 for 1 night and we had an extremely enjoyable stay. The hotel is basic but modern and clean. It is ideally located within a 10 minute walk to Gunwharf Quays shopping area. The staff were extremely attentive, friendly and professional. Our room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only negative comment I will make is about the size of the bathroom. It was extremely small and my 6ft 3" husband found it difficult to manoeuvre in!! Saying that, the bathroom was spotlessly clean and the shower was powerful and hot. A very positive point about the room is they provide tea and coffee making facilities which you don't find in many budget hotels!! Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and will definitely be booking this hotel next time we visit Portsmouth

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jaws4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear guests,

thank you so much for such a nice review. We really appreciate this kind of feedback, positive and constructive, which is always helping us to grow.

I will be looking forward to hearing from you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stay here for 2 nights. Great location. Can walk into town, and Quay and train station.
Very close to the University. Parking lot but pay. Will say the room and ensuite bath is small but clean. Had hot water kettle--nice.
Breakfast is offered at additional cost. Bar area in reception lobby. Free newspaper. WIFI available but at extra charge.
Very professional staff willing to do anything to make your stay pleasant.
Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phyllis667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your positive and kind review. On top of it, it was certainly a constructive feedback, which we always appreciate.

I am happy to read that you stay met your expectations, and I will be looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#22 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £35 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing