We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor by Ibis standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have stayed in many Ibis hotels and this is one of the worst. There is almost no room between the wall and the side of the double bed. There is a ventilator blowing a continuous stream of cold air into the room (in February). The window curtain hangs down over the electric radiator (how does the local fire officer accept this?). Finally, on checking out I was told I had to pay two pounds if I wanted to leave my bag at the hotel until the afternoon. Apparently this has now become standard at Ibis hotels but it makes we wonder whats coming next: three pounds if you want a pillow, four pounds for towels?

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank alan45t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for taking a minute to give us your feedback, we appreciate it.

I am really sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations this time, but I hope we have the opportunity to have you with us in the future.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant General Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

848 - 854 of 1,578 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Rooms are adequate though the bathrooms are VERY small.
Check-in and out quick and painless.
Large reception, bar and restaurant.
Food excellent and plenty of variety at breakfast.
Free wifi with 2 monitors.
Private car park...........

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank DLP2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review. It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive and constructive feedback, and of course, I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I will be looking forward to hearing from you again very soon.

Kindest regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Excellent value. We booked in advance so got a 15% discount on the two double rooms. Small but clean room, very comfortable bed and TV, Kettle etc and small but efficient en-suite. Free WiFi. Just what we needed for a one night stay near the docks and ferry terminal. Car Park a bit expensive at £7 but secure. Pleasant and helpful staff. Did not use the bar or 24 Hour Food Service. Would recommend for a short stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice review. It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be looking forward to hearing again from you very soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Having stayed in this hotel many years ago, we didn't check reviews and now wish we had. Room was tiny, not what we remembered. The corridors smelt of stale food and tobacco and looked very tired. The bed was ok, this was the only good thing. The shower did not work properly and the temperature was too hot and couldn't be changed. The towels were of very poor quality and were very small. Having recently stayed with a direct competitors hotel, IBIS have a long way to go to be value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review. We always appreciate our guest's feedback, even if it is not a positive one, because it will always help us to improve.

I am sorry that this time your stay did not meet your expectations. All the reported problems have been addressed to our maintenance and housekeeping services in order to sort them out as soon as possible.

I will be looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Ibis in Portsmouth around 5 times now as we find it very convenient. We have never had any problems at all. You definitely get what you pay for. All we need is a bed for the night as we tend to go out for dinner and are up early. We do find the earlier you book the better. We paid around £45 for our room for the night and noticed in reception when we got there to rate was around £118 for that night. But it's always clean and the staff are always friendly. We do feel the extras such as breakfast and parking are a little on the pricey side but it is handy to have somewhere to keep your car. All in all we will defiantly be staying again. I can imagine the only problem would be the size of the room if you are a family but since we have a baby it's not a problem for us at the moment.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Callabos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear guests,

thank you so much for such a constructive review. It is a pleasure to receive both positive and helpful feedback from our guests.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be looking forward to hearing again from you very soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Ibis. We wanted a budget hotel near the Naval Dockyard and got what we paid for. We found the room to be small, but clean. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plaskitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear guests,

thank you very much for taking a minute of your time and write your review. It is a pleasure to read that your stay met your expectations.

I will be looking forward to hearing again from you very soon.

Kind regards,

Luis Ortin
Assistant Manager
Ibis Portsmouth hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel is perfectly located, within short walking distance from the train station (Southsea).
Rooms are pretty small and basic, but quite clean.
The main problem I had is that for breakfast there was no coffee: the coffee machine was broken (or the staff could not operate it?). I was offered DECAFFEINATED (!!) Nescafe instead.
When I complained with the reception I was told "now it works", but they did not offer to give me back the breakfast money or any other compensation (nor even apologies)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papa67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your last stay with us at the Ibis Portsmouth. I am sorry for the inconveniences you experienced on breakfast with the coffee machine. I hope we will h ave the opportunity to welcome you back shortly.
Best regards.
Emilie Dengremont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#20 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,044 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Portsmouth Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Address: Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £39 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Portsmouth Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis is the only city centre hotel in Portsmouth located 3 min walk from Portsmouth & Southsea train station, shopping centre and Guild Hall, 15 min walk from Gunwharf Quays, D Day Museum and shipyards. Hotel is nearly 100% refurbished and has 24- hour Reception and Restaurant, 2 conference rooms, on site car parking and Wifi in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Portsmouth Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Portsmouth Centre Hotel Portsmouth
Accor Portsmouth Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing